King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I literally JUST made this--it's not too bad. I'll happily eat it for most of the week, but I can see where there are a few issues. First, I used more tortillas than was probably called for (I used corn tortillas, by the way). It does border on runny, but with all the extra tortillas they did a good job soaking things up. If you were to use flour tortillas, or just less tortillas in general, definetly cut back on the stock, and at least hold the lid of the rotel in place to drain the can a little bit. Spice-wise, I found it a bit one-note. Extra onions and bell peppers next time, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
very bland. too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We adjusted this for 30 people and it worked. Also it was a great hit, what was left over people put in a bowl and took it home. We used two big trays from the store, the kind that had an extra wire handles on the side, it helps because this dish when fixed for 30 people is heavy. We also prepaired it the day before and put it it in the fridge and took it out for supper, put it in the oven warmed it and cheesed it and loved watching folks eat a hot steaming meal. We also boiled 4 chickens (whole) for this meal and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious comfort food!!! Careful though, it's kinda hard not to go back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Was very good and easy to prepare, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mamacita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Stockton, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. Instead of the can of tomatoes with chili's ,I used a medium hot tomatoe salsa and use half the chicken broth.You will not need the chili powder.It gives it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a favorite around my house....we serve it with a little tomato/cilantro salad and tortilla chips! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This recipe was very good. It wasn't runny at all and stayed together nicely. I will add more chili powder and garlic salt next time. Maybe cook the chicken with some Tex-joy to add more seasoning. Overall a good recipe that will definetly be put into regular rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mauriceville, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is always a pleaser with my whole family of 6, which in itself is a miracle! I prefer the tortilla's sliced into strips. I just use my pizza cutter and zip through them. I make a side dish of spanish rice or chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
i liked this! we always have so much tortillas and i was finding ways to use them up. this was very good but it was runny. next time i will probably just add 1 cup or 1/2 a cup of broth to the sauce. but i will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States