King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Followed some advice from previous reviews and this was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made this for my daughter's band banquet and everyone absolutely loved it. Very simple to make and delicious. I will be making it again this weekend for our family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
very good as is............. i added more garlic to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Taff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe -- I did follow PODGER1's advice on the recipe and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I really liked this recipe. Pretty much followed the recipe, except I did saute the onion and peppers, adding some cilantro right at the end. Tore the tortillas (pkg. of 12) into quarters, and layered per instructions. I did let this set-up after cooking, and even though I used a can of broth (about 1 3/4 cups) found the sauce just right. Husband loved, great left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made it pretty much how the recipe called EXCEPT I did saute the onion and green pepper AND I mixed all the ingredients with the exception of the tortillas and about 1/3 of the cheese, together. layer tortillas, half the mixture, another layer of tortillas, rest of the mixture, top with the 1/3 of the cheese that was left. PERFECTION! We lived in South Texas for six years and I have had this millions of times, this is the best recipe I have come accross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLANGWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My family enjoyed this, not as much as my Mexican Lasagna but it was still good. I reduce the liquid as my son has a bad gag and I was worried about the "soupiness". I used 1 can of cream of cheddar soup, 1 can of chicken broth and 1 can of Rotel. I also added a can of black beans and a heaping cup of frozen corn to make it complete. For seasoning I used 2 tbsps of homemade taco seasoning and 1 tbsp minced garlic. It was fine for the kids not at all spicy, next time I would add more. I also seasoned the chicken with garlic powder and taco seasoning before baking. I had corn and flour tortillas and some taco shells in the freezer, I cut them all up into pieces, putting the corn on the bottom and the flour on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
a little soupy for me but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This recipe comes the closest to the one I have been using for years. I use minced garlic instead of garlic salt and I also add a tsp of ground cumin to the mix. Something else I add is fresh cilantro. I use a 4 cheese Mexican blend that melts better and isn't as greasy as cheddar. I read the other recipes and cringed when I saw them using chips, lettuce, flour tortillas. I'm sure there are as many recipes for King Ranch Chicken as there are for curry, but this transplanted Texan prefers her chips with salsa, her lettuce in a salad and flour tortillas wrapped around a good taco truck burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this tasty dish for my family and everyone loved it! I did follow some suggestions. I used one cup of chicken broth instead of 2 as I didn't want a "soupy" casserole. Also, I did not cover with foil either. In addition I sauteed the onion and bell pepper prior to mixing. One more thing, I mixed the chili powder and added one teaspoon of cumin powder with the soup mix. I don't like salty so I omitted the garlic salt and just added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the soup mix too. If you have children who don't like spicy foods you can reduce the chili powder. However, the can of diced tomatoes and green chili peppers will also add to the spiciness of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States