King Ranch Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This was nice - somewhat like a taco salad. I used less cheddar, only about 1/4 cup of sliced olives, and a chopped green onion instead of the chives. The tortillas in the middle were a bit soggy - next time I will not layer as in the recipe, but mix the chicken and soup/tomatoes, top with tortillas, then with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I'd never heard of this casserole but thought I would give it a shot. Very yummy but you need to add more crushed chips on top each time you have it for leftovers for extra oomph :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I mexicanized this recipe a bit. Instead of cheddar cheese, I used one brick of mild cheddar, one brick of hot pepper cheese, and a bag of kroger shredded pepper jack cheese. Also, instead of the tomatoes, I used 1/2 jar of mild salsa, and added a couple tablespoons of diced green chilies on top of that. With using the salsa, you do NOT need to use the chicken broth at all. Also, I used a 16 oz package of the corn tortilla's - gave it a great flavor. Family absolutely LOVED it and my son ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning. I like a lot of cheese and so does my family. The recipe's amount would not do for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
WHAT A GREAT RECIPE !!! MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES IT...MAYBE NOT THE PRETTIEST LOOKING , BUT THE FLAVOR IS INCREDIBLE !! USE LOW SODIUM SOY SAUCE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilvi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This dish was wonderful! My husband asks me to make it all the time now. I'm not a very good cook but this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
YUM!!! There is nothing bland about this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jetsetter
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This turned out easy and good, although I think adding a little onion in it would help. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is definitely not the classic King Ranch Chicken we eat here in Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I used salsa in place of the tomatoes and zesty chips to give it more zip. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I used ranch flavored chips and served the dish on top of a bed of lettuce and tomatoes. Was different but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States