King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This recipe works better if you do the following: use cut-up corn tortillas rather than chips, cube the cooked chicken and blend the ro-tel tomatoes with the soups prior to cooking, use a mexican cheese blend, and if you use a whole onion, make it a small one! (especially if serving to kids). Layering the ingredients (including the chips/tortillas) ensures that no part of the casserole will be dry. This is a very easy, tasty recipe that all my friends ask me for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was a great recipe. I would be a wonderful dish to take to a gathering. I used boiled chicken breasts that I shredded in my food processor. Then layered the chips and mixed ALL the other ingredients together(saving 1/2 the cheese). Poured it over the chips, and then added the remaining cheese. It was great and seemed to really stick together better than layering the chicken would have. Will make this again and again. Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I just made this for my family for dinner. My kids are picky eaters and its hard to find a recipe they all like and my husband likes. Everyone loved it! Usually they barely eat one serving of chicken for dinner. But they all loved it and everyone asked for seconds and cleaned their plates. A big hit!! I used most of a 14 oz can of tomatoes w/chiles instead of 10 oz because I misread the recipe but it was delicious--not too spicy-just right. For those that like it spicier they can also add a little more diced tomatoes and chiles or salsa at the table. We will have this often! Also, I just quickly boiled some (1 1/2 - 2 lbs) chicken breast strips for this recipe in a bit of chicken broth and water-only took 15 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
My family liked this more than I did, but I still would have given it a four. After making several times, I have made the following changes: Omitted cream of mushroom soup in favor of lite sour cream mixed with cheddar cheese dip (Moore's brand mild flavor) -- this mixture made about a cup. I also sauteed my onions with a bit of olive oil, and added three cloves of garlic, a tsp of garlic powder, a tsp of dried cilantro, 1/2 tsp of chile powder, and 1/2 tsp of dried oregano. I also used a colby/jack blend of cheese. I made more layers, starting with chips, then sauce, then chicken, then cheese, and then repeated all. It filled my huge glass casserole dish. The only problem I had with this recipe is that 20 minutes on 350 (I raised the temp by 50) didn't heat it all the way through. If I hadn't decided to precook the onions, they would still have been cold and crunchy. My husband loved this, and so did my kids. They loved that the chips on the bottom were still crunchy. I liked that too, it added some interest. I thought it was very good and I will make it again, but next time I think I'll substitute some monterey jack queso dip for one can of the soup. I recommend adding your favorite spices to this dish -- I'm not sure if it would have been as good without them. UPDATE: I've found that reheating this in the oven keeps the chicken from tasting funny after refrigeration. Also, the next time I made it, I used jarred white queso and jalapeno dip and it was a marve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was so good !!!! i used torn-up flour tortillas rather than chips and added a can of mexicorn too - and used much more cheese. I used boiled chicken breasts, and baked it for about 45 minutes. The kids loved it too. This is definitely a keeper!! thanks susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I have been looking for an easy, no-fuss King Ranch Chicken recipe and I have finally found it. Like some of the past reviewers suggested, instead of cream of mushroom soup, I use cream of celery, which I think gave it a better flavor and I only used a total of 2 cups of cheese so as to not overwhelm the dish with cheese.. Also, I started out with lightly sauteing the chopped onions with a little bit of garlic in olive oil. Then combined the soups and the Rotel and brought it to a boil. Then added the chopped chicken (which I used a store bought rotisserie chicken to save time) and 1 cup of the shredded cheese. Also, I only layered the tortilla chips on the bottom then spread the entire chicken mixture on top. Then, baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Then I topped it with the remaining cheese and baked for another 5 minutes. I think I might try it with a layer of cooked spaghetti on the bottom next time instead of chips for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this dish for the first time when we had guests over, and it was wonderful!!! One of our guests said it was better than her King Ranch Chicken recipe and wanted a copy! I added a little crushed garlic to the recipe to give it a little more kick. Will definitely make it again! - I know I have already reviewed this, but I wanted to note that I made it again last night, and I did not have cream of mushroom soup, so I just used cream of celery. It turned out great! I also added in the extra garlic, dash of lemon juice, dash of lime juice, an extra tomato, and a sprinkle of dried cilantro! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Man oh man is this ever good!! We sub american cheese for the cheddar, and add a thin layer of crushed tortilla chips on the bottom of the pan. We do add pimentos and black olives to ours, but there taste is not missed if you decided to leave them out. Another great comfort food recipe. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
yummy recipe! I used rotel diced tomatoes and pre-baked a few chicken breasts instead of the whole cut-up chicken. I also used the bite size Tostitos and used cream of chicken w/mushrooms. The husband liked it, I loved it, my picky son picked and would'nt touch the chicken. My daughter liked it. Will make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I will make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States