King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was a good BASE recipe. Waaay too much onion, and I very thinly sliced them, and they were still way too strong. I'll do what other reviewers said and cook the onions first, but I'll probably only use about half the onion next time. A good change to this recipe would be instead of the chips on the bottom, use Knorr Rice sides, Mexican rice(pre-cooked) and then layer it the same way, but also using sliced FRESH mushrooms mixed in with the sauce. YUM! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I added a few ingredients which I thought gave it a rating of 4 out of 5 stars. I added two fresh diced tomatoes, about 1/2 a bunch of fresh chopped cilantro, and 4 sliced green onions. I chopped up whole wheat tortillas instead of tortilla chips and mixed all ingredients together before baking. Delicious as main dish or would be good wrapped in tortillas with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this casserole was delish!! i used a cream o' chicken and a cream o' onion because i t was what i had. and i sauteed the onion a bit so it wasn't so strong. i added black olives and on our plates i dolloped sour cream as suggested. great meal my bf and i finished off the whole thing. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I halved the recipe to use up the leftover pressure cooked chicken. Used 1 can low fat cream of chicken soup and the "hot" RoTel tomatoes with green chile peppers. Next time I make this, I will keep the chips separate so they don't get soggy for any left overs. Topped mine with fat free sour cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Very good. Everyone loved it. Next time I'll use flour tortilla shells instead of chips and cut the amount of onions and make them very small because they tend to stay very raw. Other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I grew up with my Gran's King Ranch Chicken that had tortillas in it. I made this one as directed, and the chips were SO good in it. I had a bag of thicker tortilla chips, and they held up well in the casserole w/o getting mushy. They also added a little salty kick that regular tortillas miss. I'll definitely be making it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Easy to put together and the family enjoyed it. But, they were surprised it's wasn't spicy. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts--cubed and cooked in a little oil and garlic and added cumin, chilli powder, and cayenne. No onion. Added a can of drained black beans. Combined the tomatoes and two "cream of" soups (one chicken & one celery) and maybe 3/4 cup of cheese. Added the soup/tomato/cheese mix to the chicken/beans and poured it over the tortilla chips. No layering. I'm assuming my husband added cheese to the top after it baked for 20 minutes... I used maybe 1 1/2 to 2 cups cheese total. Much faster to glop it all onto the chips rather than try layering it. So, is King Ranch a restaurant or brand or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I baked a chicken the night before and what was left over, I used for this recipe. It was great. I made this for my parents. Two people who are not fans of "one pot" meals. They both has seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I fixed this exactly as the recipe says and thought it was really just plain tasting. Won't fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is stick-to-your-ribs down home comfort food, and for what it is, it's perfect. My wife and I both rate this recipe five stars. That noted, the recipe isn't clear on step two, the layering of chips. My wife recommended I cover the bottom of the dish with chips, and then after adding the soup mixture, to add another layer of chips--not quite as thick as the first layer. Then, cover the chips with the rest of the soup mixture. It turned out absolutely splendid. I used the kind of cheese I had on hand, pepper jack and hot style Rotel tomatoes because we like a little bit of a kick. We loved this recipe. I also sprayed the dish with cooking spray so it wouldn't stick. Thanks for the great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States