King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I had never had King Cake before, but I wanted to make this for Mardi Gras to take to work. I used this recipe, and it was wonderful! My coworkers loved it! I had one coworker from New Orleans who raved that this was just like the King Cake from the Big Easy, and the Cakes (I made 2) went fast! I did make a few adjustments based on reviews and taste. I accidentally did 2 c. of confectioner's sugar to the filling, so I balanced it out with a couple of Tbsp. of lemon juice (gave it a great taste!). I also spread the filling on the dough and rolled it like a jelly roll instead. The lemon and cream cheese was just right, and it balanced the cake perfectly! My only concern with it was that it was very dense and a the bottom burned a little. But overall, it will definitely become a Mardi Gras staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mald1983

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I am not a bread baker and don't usually work with yeast, so I was worried about trying to make this. However, I did, and the results were great! I followed the recipe exactly (only 1.5 on the filling, as others suggested and reducing the amount of lemon juice in the glaze). Otherwise, it was easier than I thought it would be! It is time consuming though, the "ready in" time listed on here is probably two hours too short. My dough didn't seem like it was rising very quickly at all, and after an hour of waiting, I just turned my oven on to 200 and sat the bowl on top of the stove (just to warm it up a bit) and that worked perfectly. I have a lot of family in New Orleans, and I've had my share of King Cakes, and this one was delicious. My kids were not a fan of the cream cheese filling, but my husband and I loved it. I had him take it to work, and they finished it off. It's a pretty good size, bigger than I thought it would be. I will definitely make this again, but maybe I'll change up the filling so my kids will eat it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janw262

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The ready time is misleading but overall its a good cake.It took a lot longer than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mar
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Never made a king cake before! I chose this one because it didn't contain nuts, as some of the others did. My one significant adjustment was in adding nearly 2 cups more powdered sugar to the glaze. Originally, it was too thin and runny, as well as nearly transparent. I wanted the look and texture of a solid white icing, so I added several more spoonfuls if powdered sugar. Will make again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
First king cake made ever and made for Super Bowl Sunday. Making it again per family request and also have others i have to make smaller ones for now to. Being from Louisna and spent many Mardi Gras in New Orleans this is better than any I've got from a store!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was my first time baking a King Cake and this turned out better than any King Cake that I've ever bought. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
first time making a King Cake and everyone loved it! I found it very easy to make, only change was not adding as much liquid into the glaze at the end, it would have been way to runny. It was beautiful, yummy and easy- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at a King Cake, I made it for Epiphany with the family. It is a nice, yeasty sweetbread with a delightful cream cheese filling and lemony glaze. I did modify the procedure by using my bread machine. I performed all of the steps the same, just added the ingredients as directed into the bread machine and allowed it to knead/rise in there. I had problems with the center of the cake not fully baking around the can, so perhaps I had the dough too snug around the can? I would advise others to leave a small gap between the center of the ring and the can. Also the glaze, while lemony and delicious, did not adhere well to the cake, and most of it ended up on the plate beneath. I would use a little less liquid next time. The cream cheese layer was still slightly warm when we ate this--what a treat! I would consider using a little more filling next time. We decorated ours generously with colored large granule decorating sugar. This adds to the overall sweetness, and looks great. The family loved this treat, thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Though the glaze is very sweet it still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle Gallipeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My 11 year old daughter and I made this together and it was wonderful! We doubled the recipe for a Mardi Gras party held for International students. It was gobbled up! One thing I would change - as others have said, making the glaze as written resulted in it running all over the counter. When you make yours, add the liquid slowly to get the consistency you want. I think we added 2x the amount of conf sugar before glazing the second cake and that was perfect. Love it!!! Thanks Arvillalar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States