Kim's Virtuous Mini Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I used whole wheat white flour, buttermilk, my own organic pumpkin mash and quadrupled the spices. At the last minute, I threw in half a bag of butterscotch chips that I needed to use. These turned out really well, though I wish there'd been more of a pumpkin flavor. If I make these again, I'll use all pumpkin and eliminate the applesauce. I'm glad I added more spice, they'd have been bland if I hadn't. NOTE: To help with a more fluffy muffin and to eliminate the "rubbery" texture, wisk together your dry ingredients together and the wet ingredients together and gently fold the wet into the dry taking care not to overmix. The more you mix, the more tough your muffin will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I thought this was a wonderful recipe! I was trying to be extra healthy, so I decreased the sugar to just under a cup and used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. I also adjusted the spices to fit my taste and lowered the salt to 1/2 tsp. The consistency is PERFECT and the bake time is right on (be sure you are baking them in mini-muffin tins). Thanks for a GREAT recipe. This one is going in my binder. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
while it looks and sounds delicious, i would hardly call a recipe with only white flour "virtuous". try half wheat flour, or a whole wheat pastry flour (ghram flour) for a healthier result. If you like lover sugar, try a half sugar half sweetener brand, otherwise you can cut the sugar to 1 c or even 3/4 cup and retain the sweetness. maybe you could even taste the pumpkin then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The texture of these was odd, kind of rubbery. Definitely will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
These are delicious muffins! They are also very addictive. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! They are going to be my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner with the family this year. I plan on topping some of them with vanilla icing and sprinkling them with chopped walnuts. This is a great recipe that will sure to be a hit with the entire family! Thank you so much for sharing it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great taste and amazing moist fluffy texture for a low-fat recipe, but cut the salt way down! I reduced the salt to 1 Tsp and used low-fat buttermilk in place of regular milk. I will make these again, but with only 3/4 tsp salt and the more traditional pumpkin-pie ratio of spices. Mine also took longer to bake than the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Toddler helped me make these this morning. Good flavor. We added about a cup of mini-chocolate chips and substituted one off the eggs with flaxseed. Our mini muffins baked in 10 minutes and regular size muffins baked in 15 minutes. Tastey and fairly healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
The original title to this recipe was Kim's VIRTUALLY FAT FREE Mini Pumpkin Muffins. The publisher must have thought that was too long and shortened it. As with all of my recipes, they lend themselves well to alterations to suit your taste preferences, ingredient availability, and nutritional needs. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great flavor! Mine came out really dense like they were underbaked even though I cooked them almost 30 min? I did use splenda instead of sugar(the stuff for baking, not the packets)I don't know if that would affect this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great healthy muffin recipe. I made a couple of changes... Nothing major. I just used whole wheat flour, and Splenda instead of sugar. With the Splenda change, I calculated it, and each mini-muffin is about 35 calories. Amazing, right? I also used a different blend of spices (1 Tbsp Cinnamon, 1 tsp Nutmeg, 1/2 tsp Cloves, no allspice or ginger), just because that's how I like it. Aside from being healthy, they taste great too. I probably should have halved the recipe because I might try to eat all 48 muffins in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States