Kim's Ultimate Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is delicious! I suggest double the sauce recipe add 1/2 the water, put some of the sauce in the meat, pour some over the loaf & heat up what's left of the sauce & pour over individual servings! Im about to eat this entire loaf to myself & Im not exaggerating. I made it with ground beef & the ingredients I had on hand I used dijon mustard & I think it gave it an even better taste. Also I used traditional pasta sauce, it is prepared with a few herbs in it. I think the minor difference in ingredients I used made a huge difference in flavor. & I will be cooking it again!! sticking with the original recipe & the closest ingredients I have, I'm just uping & thickening that yummy sauce & putting some in the meat, my only adjustments. Oh & I used saltine crackers, it wasnt specific but if it said bread crumbs I'd have skipped this yummy meat loaf. It's so good!! This is my first time making meat loaf & this is now my go to recipe. I have never had a better meatloaf, I love the flavor of the mustard & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love this recipe, I won't make meatloaf any other way. I've been making this for at least 4 years now. I use ground beef and bread crumbs instead of cracker crumbs. I also use apple cider vinegar. My husband LOVES saucy food so I actually DOUBLE the sauce portion and bake it in a 9x13 pan. We spoon the extra sauce over egg noodles or mashed potatoes. A huge family favorite, even the kids love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Delicious flavors in this, made with half lamb and half ground beef. As others have posted, way too much sauce/liquid as written. I think perhaps cutting the water completely is the way to go, if you're using tomato sauce (I used some Muir Glen pasta sauce, worked well); might be that it should have been that water + some tomato *paste*? Not sure, but all in all, will make again with the adjustment of cutting the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Lamb! Bill loved this. Leftovers makes great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
It was good- but way way to much sauce, the meat was a little soggy- I wouldnt make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made this with ground beef and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce because I love ketchup and can't imagine eating meatloaf without it. It tasted amazing, the best meatloaf I've ever had! The only thing I didn't like was the amount of liquid in the bottom of the pan. Next time I don't think I'll add any water at all to the sauce topping. Other than the extra liquid, it had amazing taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made this for my husband and followed the recipe exactly. I probably should have read the reviews first and omitted the water (it isn't needed) and cut the sugar by half. The recipe is WAY too sweet otherwise. My husband said it tasted as though someone had poured candy all over the meatloaf. We couldn't eat it - what a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Just wonderful!!! I did add about 7 cloves of garlic, crushed and chopped and finely diced red bell pepper to the mix. I also used panko bread crumbs in place of the crackers. I took others advice and omitted the water. The meatloaf of juicy and very flavorful. I will definitely make this again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used italian bread crumbs and only a 1/4 cup water! It is much better with the italian bread crumbs! It has a much better flavor! The best I have ever made and I'm one of those people that doesn't like anything she makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Too sweet.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States