Kim's Ultimate Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Although the sweet and sour topping was good, the texture and flavor of the meat was disappointing. Too many cracker crumbs made it dry, and the meat was very bland. After making this, I compared this recipe to some others and found that, when dry bread crumbs or cracker crumbs were used, the other recipes used only 1/2 cup of cracker crumbs and generally seasonings were added so that the meat wouldn't be bland (garlic, horseradish, worchestershire sauce, etc.) This is NOT the ultimate meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Good. There is way to much sauce. I would half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This was my first meatloaf and it turned out fantastic! I did however use ground beef instead and I did not have an onion on hand so I used half a package of onion soup mix and breadcrumbs instead of cracker crumbs, ketchup instead of tomato sauce. I was afraid that 1/2 cup of brown sugar would be too much because of the ketchup so I used 1/4 cup instead for the sauce and I did not use any vinegar in the sauce...still it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 4 years and it is always a huge hit!! I get asked on a weekly basis but I usually make 1-2 times a month. I use the recipe as stated except I use ground beef and when it is formed in the pan I take my finger and poke about 3-4 holes through the top down the center, this just allows more of the sauce to absorb. I also add 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 and sometimes I even sprinkle a little on the top of the meatloaf. When we cut and serve I take the sauce from the pan and we spoon over our meatloaf as a sauce. Anybody that doesn't like meatloaf definitly try this one, it tastes nothing like the traditional. Hopefully many more will find this recipe to be great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
i had never tasted nor made a brown sugar meatloaf before. this recipe was very easy to make. i followed it word-for-word, and the results were very tasty! the loaf itself was moist and yummy. the sauce was too sweet, and since there was lots of it, i drained if off the next time. i look forward to making it again with less brown sugar. i don't know that i'd change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Kim, this meatloaf was fabulous! It was so moist, unlike most meatloafs I have tried. I do agree with some of the other reviews that the sauce to go on top was excessive. Literally of course. I poured the sauce over and still had a lot left, so I waited to see if I needed it while in the oven thinking that maybe the sauce would evaporate or absorb into the loaf. It didn't. You could probably half the sauce and it would be fine. But this was still the best meatloaf we have ever had. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made this for my husband and followed the recipe exactly. I probably should have read the reviews first and omitted the water (it isn't needed) and cut the sugar by half. The recipe is WAY too sweet otherwise. My husband said it tasted as though someone had poured candy all over the meatloaf. We couldn't eat it - what a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Just wonderful!!! I did add about 7 cloves of garlic, crushed and chopped and finely diced red bell pepper to the mix. I also used panko bread crumbs in place of the crackers. I took others advice and omitted the water. The meatloaf of juicy and very flavorful. I will definitely make this again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used italian bread crumbs and only a 1/4 cup water! It is much better with the italian bread crumbs! It has a much better flavor! The best I have ever made and I'm one of those people that doesn't like anything she makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Too sweet.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States