Kim's Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this for a cookout that I went to, and it went over really good. I really love it and will have it again. Unfortunately DH didn't care for it. I used frozen corn & peas though. Because I was worried about about mayonnaise I made and oil & vinegar dressing instead - per one other review. I used a drizzle of sesame oil and 1/4c vegetable oil. I also used 2tbsp balsamic vinegar, then added a drizzle more - so maybe more like 3tbsp? I also added sesame seasoning mix along with the salt and pepper. I also cubed up a block of sharp cheddar cheese to mix in - that went so well with everything else. My MIL really loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Sorry...I have a question...not being a master chef by any means, what can I substitute for the mayonnaise? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Fantastic! My only complaint is that the amount of mayo is a bit much.. It was really liquidy, but other than that, my whole family loved it! Great summertime dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
TOO MUCH ONION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Will make again but will adjust the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is such a fun change from lettuce salads. I served it to guests who at first didn't know what to make of it...peas and corn? For this reason, I'd suggest making the servings small, like in a lettuce cup. Not exactly rave reviews, but everyone liked it fine, and it's pretty filling. I make it for myself on occasion, but I only use frozen corn and peas, then microwave them to just thaw out, never cook them. They are a lot sweeter that way. I also used fresh red bell pepper and no cucumbers (my husband is allergic). This is an easy recipe to change to suit your tastes. The point is to keep it simple. Thanks Kim, for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Left out the pomento's. It was awsome! I served it as a dip with tortilla chips. Everyone liked it! Especially those that dont care for tomato base salsas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was okay, but I didn't love it. It seemed to be similar to a corn salsa, but then mayo was added and it seemed a little odd, but it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I love it when people change a whole recipe, including ingredients, and then give it three lousy stars. Sheesh, if you're going to do that, send in your own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Easy to put together, easy to clean-up!!!! AND - IT TASTES GREAT TOO!!!! YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
As written I have to give this recipe 3 stars. I liked the basic idea, but I had to change the ingredients. First of all, I used fresh corn, cooked and cut off the cob. I used frozen peas instead of canned because....Yuck! Canned peas are icky. I used grape tomatoes, cut in half instead of large tomatoes to cut down on the liquid, and seeded the cucumber for the same reason. I also made a vinaigrette instead of mayonnaise. My husband said he didn't think he would like a corn salad, but he really liked this one. Although I made several changes, I thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States