Kim's Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is such a fun change from lettuce salads. I served it to guests who at first didn't know what to make of it...peas and corn? For this reason, I'd suggest making the servings small, like in a lettuce cup. Not exactly rave reviews, but everyone liked it fine, and it's pretty filling. I make it for myself on occasion, but I only use frozen corn and peas, then microwave them to just thaw out, never cook them. They are a lot sweeter that way. I also used fresh red bell pepper and no cucumbers (my husband is allergic). This is an easy recipe to change to suit your tastes. The point is to keep it simple. Thanks Kim, for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Left out the pomento's. It was awsome! I served it as a dip with tortilla chips. Everyone liked it! Especially those that dont care for tomato base salsas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was okay, but I didn't love it. It seemed to be similar to a corn salsa, but then mayo was added and it seemed a little odd, but it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I love it when people change a whole recipe, including ingredients, and then give it three lousy stars. Sheesh, if you're going to do that, send in your own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Easy to put together, easy to clean-up!!!! AND - IT TASTES GREAT TOO!!!! YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
As written I have to give this recipe 3 stars. I liked the basic idea, but I had to change the ingredients. First of all, I used fresh corn, cooked and cut off the cob. I used frozen peas instead of canned because....Yuck! Canned peas are icky. I used grape tomatoes, cut in half instead of large tomatoes to cut down on the liquid, and seeded the cucumber for the same reason. I also made a vinaigrette instead of mayonnaise. My husband said he didn't think he would like a corn salad, but he really liked this one. Although I made several changes, I thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I had a corn salad from a small town grocery store deli several years ago that was so delicious, but have never found it anywhere else or was able to recreate it. When I found this recipe, I thought I'd give it a try and let me tell you, this is it! The only change I made was leaving out the peas as the salad I had didn't have them and I don't care for them. Delicious! You have to try this, it is perfect for summer and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is excellent! I scaled it X3 for 40 servings (but just used one can of peas). Got lots of compliments on it. I wil definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
A good way to get your veggies. I used frozen corn and peas instead of canned. I substituted scallions for onion and orange bell pepper for pimentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent! This is quick, easy, and very tasty! Great hit for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresa
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States