Kim's Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I thought this was perfect for a hot summer day. Needed something to take to a fish fry and this was light, refreshing and a perfect side. I used frozen peas and corn instead of canned but everything else was the same as the recipe. I made it in less than 10 minutes and out the door it went to the fish fry. Because the veggies were frozen by the time they got there to be served they had thawed the right amount and were still super cold which made it perfect. When my grandma was alive she used to make something like this many, many years ago and I am so glad I found the recipe. It will be made often. Next time I make it I may cut down on some of the onion because it really did pop and I think a little less would tone it down a bit. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was delicious! Took it to a girls' night out party and it got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was to add about 1/4 cup ranch dressing mix and about 1/4 cup sugar. I'm from the South so everything is better with a little sugar. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Oh heck yeah! I get so tired of the same ole/same ole cool summer dishes (think slaw, potato salad, etc.) This was quick, easy and super yummy. The only change I made was using frozen peas instead of canned. I might add some pasta shells when I need a little more substance, but this was great as is. Also a great "leftover" veggies dish. You could easily add that last stalk of celery, artichoke heart, sweet pepper. I'm already thinking about throwing in some pico de gallo for an easy side dish for fish tacos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe with a little tweaking. I don't understand why anyone gets upset when people add their own touches. This is the reason I read the recipes. I am always glad to hear how others make it their own way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm with you, people change your recipe and then give you 3 stars, changed from a fat based sauce to a vinegar base, it's not even close to your recipe. I made it EXACTLY ! Like you listed, it was very good, fresh and very pleasing on a hot day, plates up nice too. I may add a few green onions next time and reduce the purple onion, just cause I love green onions. But your recipe was perfect! Thank you. If you like Shrimp, try my "Kevin's Seashells" listed on this site, let me know what you think, but if anything please use Fresh Shrimp, caught in the USA, not canned shrimp, ( I can't believe they even make canned shrimp) Ewww! I live on the Gulf Of Mexico, so one throw of the net and I have fresh live shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
plan on making this for Thanksgiving! Easy recipe, things have on hand, and not a lot of things the kids won't eat. Will rate after we've eaten. Thanks for sharing with us. Oops, says I have to rate before can comment so will go on and give it a 5 just based on reasons given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Made this for a side dish - - my family loved it. I loved it because it was so easy!!! I substituted the mayo for the fat free mayo, and I don't think anyone noticed. I'll be keeping this one on hand for a quick summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nnewman6080

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made a couple adjustments and it was great! 1) used 1/2 red onion (tossed it with salt in a colander then drained excess liquid before mixing into other ingredients); and 2) used blanched shelled edamame (soy beans) increased of canned peas. The edamame made it bright and had great texture. Oh and I used light mayo instead and added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I liked it a lot, but would definitely recommend using fresh corn. The crunch makes it so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was delicious and a perfect substitute for a lettuce salad. I used Green Giant Steam Crisp Super Sweet White Corn (11 oz.), Green Giant Steam Crisp Super Sweet Yellow and White (11 oz.), Le Sueur Very Young Small Sweet Peas, a small jar of pimientos, the 2 tomatoes, and cucumber and green onion to our taste preference. I used only 1/4 cup light mayonnaise, which was perfect for this amount of vegetables. It makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States