Kim's Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This cake is definitely decadent yet easy! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very dense, moist, rich, and chocolately - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! You really don't even need frosting, just a dusting of confectioners' sugar which provided a nice contrast and didn't ruin the flavor. I did omit the cinnamon and swithed the amounts of water and coffee liqueur. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
More than 20 years ago, I made this cake for my brother when he was in the hospital, after clipping the recipe from the newspaper. I remember he thought it was a slice of heaven! I lost the recipe and have looked for it repeatedly over the years, only managing to find cake recipes that were "close," but not quite it. I was thrilled to find the recipe again! This is a great and easy cake, though my preference is without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
This recipe is a definite "win" for chocolate lovers everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Best Chocolate Cake ever!! I have been on a (very expensive, very messy) quest, making recipes from many sites, one of which is the acknowledged king of cooking sites--America's Test Kitchen,and I have just not been happy! However, I can tell you, for texture, moist and dense, chocolate flavor that is intense but not overwhelming, this is your cake! My search is over!! PS: You don't need frosting for this, but I would suggest a little confectioners sugar or cocoa powder dusted over the top and maybe a fresh fruit and mint garnish just for looks. Many times when people see a cake in a bundt style they assume that it is dry and crumbly... This cake would be passed on by at the potlucks I go to--My husband calls it a "Sleeper" cake, you can put it out and be assured that there will be a piece left for you when you are ready for it--it won't get gobbled up unless someone knows your secret. FYI: I made Bobby Flay's Dark Chocolate Mousse as an over the top combination...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I was still full from dinner, but I made the ultimate sacrifice and taste-tested a sliver of cake--now I am nearly in a chocolate-induced coma. It is so moist, with pockets of creamy chocolate, and very rich. I used fat-free, sugar-free pudding mix and light sour cream, thinking I would save a few calories; then (I'm embarrassed to admit this) I negated the calorie-save by drizzling on an entirely unnecessary chocolate glaze. For the liqueur, I used half butterscotch schnappes and half coffee liqueur. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
GREAT! My family just LOVED this cake! Very chocolate-y! I served with frosting on the side so everyone could frost as much or as little as they wanted. Followed recipe on box of powdered sugar for buttercream frosting and added 1/3 cup of cocoa to make it chocolate. Excellent! TIP: Use cocoa instead of flour when dusting the bundt pan - you won't see white flour all over your pretty chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This cake is very moist. I didn't have the coffe liquor so I just used coffe and it worked great. Also I didn;t put any frosting on the cake I just dusted it with conf. sugar. It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This cake was easy to make and very moist. I only gave it 4 stars because my family found the coffee liqueur taste to be overpowering. I will try this again without the liquer. I used a Bundt Cake Glaze recipe from this site and it was very good on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I cut the calories a bit by using sugar-free fat-free pudding mix, and it tasted great! I also used mini chocolate chips, just 1 cup. I added 1/3 cup of white creme de menthe liqueur for a subtle mint taste. We liked it a lot; I might even try adding 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This cake was moist and delicious! It was so easy to make and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States