Kim's Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Moist and decadent cake my family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This cake is definitely decadent yet easy! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very dense, moist, rich, and chocolately - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! You really don't even need frosting, just a dusting of confectioners' sugar which provided a nice contrast and didn't ruin the flavor. I did omit the cinnamon and swithed the amounts of water and coffee liqueur. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This cake is just awsome! It really is better made a day ahead, very moist. I made mine in an angel food cake pan following the exact directions. I frosted it with my favorite Fluffy Peanut Butter frosting from the site. My boyfriend's son asked for this for his birthday cake and I'm really glad I tried this cake! Liked by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It was plenty chocolaty, but um well....it just wasn't that GOOD. Though I followed the recipe exactly, mine was dry. If you try it, up the oil or something. As for me, I'm looking for another recipe, sorry to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I cut the calories a bit by using sugar-free fat-free pudding mix, and it tasted great! I also used mini chocolate chips, just 1 cup. I added 1/3 cup of white creme de menthe liqueur for a subtle mint taste. We liked it a lot; I might even try adding 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This turned out pretty good. My cinnamon is really potent (Penzey's Chinese Cassia) so I reduced the measurement down to 1/2 teaspoon and I still think the cinnamon flavor was a little prominent for my taste. Didn't have any coffee liqueur, so I just used some cold coffee. Husband asked for seconds and my Mom was in the kitchen "cleaning up" the edges of the cake, so I guess they found it tasty. Served it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
More than 20 years ago, I made this cake for my brother when he was in the hospital, after clipping the recipe from the newspaper. I remember he thought it was a slice of heaven! I lost the recipe and have looked for it repeatedly over the years, only managing to find cake recipes that were "close," but not quite it. I was thrilled to find the recipe again! This is a great and easy cake, though my preference is without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe. Simple to make. Instead of coffee liquer, I used GODIVA LIQUER... a small sample bottle that was the exact measurement called for. Very moist and the chocolate-ness made me swoon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie mcd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I was still full from dinner, but I made the ultimate sacrifice and taste-tested a sliver of cake--now I am nearly in a chocolate-induced coma. It is so moist, with pockets of creamy chocolate, and very rich. I used fat-free, sugar-free pudding mix and light sour cream, thinking I would save a few calories; then (I'm embarrassed to admit this) I negated the calorie-save by drizzling on an entirely unnecessary chocolate glaze. For the liqueur, I used half butterscotch schnappes and half coffee liqueur. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Best Chocolate Cake ever!! I have been on a (very expensive, very messy) quest, making recipes from many sites, one of which is the acknowledged king of cooking sites--America's Test Kitchen,and I have just not been happy! However, I can tell you, for texture, moist and dense, chocolate flavor that is intense but not overwhelming, this is your cake! My search is over!! PS: You don't need frosting for this, but I would suggest a little confectioners sugar or cocoa powder dusted over the top and maybe a fresh fruit and mint garnish just for looks. Many times when people see a cake in a bundt style they assume that it is dry and crumbly... This cake would be passed on by at the potlucks I go to--My husband calls it a "Sleeper" cake, you can put it out and be assured that there will be a piece left for you when you are ready for it--it won't get gobbled up unless someone knows your secret. FYI: I made Bobby Flay's Dark Chocolate Mousse as an over the top combination...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States