Kimbop (Korean Sushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I lived in Korea for a while and this type is indeed sold there. It is not traditional but the kind you buy at a convienience store as a snack..I bought it many times. If you buy Kimbap in a resturaunt or had it made in someones home you would not get this version ..it's the takeout version of Kimbap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was first time making these so I didn't have high hopes, but the recipe was easy to follow. Only thing is I accidentally rolled them into huge canons and had a hard time cutting them into bite sizes. The ingredients were a little Americanized but at least they're easy to find! I'll experiment more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very good! We lived in Northern China for 3 years and I would walk once or twice a week to a local butcher shop. The cleanest butcher shop in our area and it just happened to be owned by a husband and wife from Korea. There are apparently a lot of Koreans in that area of China. The butchers wife made these and sold them in the shop. She made them with ham but no cheese.....cheese was very expensive there so that may be why she didn't use the cheese. She also made one with tuna (canned) and pineapple. Sounds strange but it was delicious! So glad I found this recipe.....I really miss living in China and I miss the Korean butcher and his lovely wife. This is definitely a comfort food for me now! So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to Katie K for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used radish and crab as well but I didn't use the cheese. I oiled the outside of the roll with a touch of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
They put cheese in all kinds of things in Korea...Cheese Ramen, cheese don-kass....why not kimbop? I am sure it tastes great...Korean Fusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I am Korean and I have been around long enough to know that everyone has different flavors. My mom use to make ours with hotdogs, and I have heard of people using cream cheese. I think what ever you have in your kitchen, as any thing goes. A good note to everyone is not to fill it with too much rice or it will be hard to roll about a 1/4 inch layer should be good. And make sure that everything is patted dry or you will rip the seaweed when you roll,cut or eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I have been living in Seoul for a little while now and it is pretty common to see kimbap with ham and cheese. I prefer tuna to ham or cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super good, and super easy to "personalize". Our neighbor makes hers with fried SPAM strips, pickled daikon, and egg. Sometimes we use blanched carrot strips, too. Sometimes, kimchee and beef. Any way you make these, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew up eating Kim Bap as my Dad spent some time in Korea as a young man and I have never had it with cheeseo.O But other wise it sounds right. My Dad uses ham once in a while just for a different twist:) My birthday is in a few days and he is making this for me! Oh Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Yes, again the cheese is weird to me too, but with that said kimbap can be made anyway you want. Kim - is seaweed and bap - is rice, the possibilities are endless and I had it many ways. Each family makes it differently. I personally like mine with dak - quang (pickled radish), bulgogi (korean beef), steamed spinach, egg and carrots. It's just what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States