Kimbop (Korean Sushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very good! We lived in Northern China for 3 years and I would walk once or twice a week to a local butcher shop. The cleanest butcher shop in our area and it just happened to be owned by a husband and wife from Korea. There are apparently a lot of Koreans in that area of China. The butchers wife made these and sold them in the shop. She made them with ham but no cheese.....cheese was very expensive there so that may be why she didn't use the cheese. She also made one with tuna (canned) and pineapple. Sounds strange but it was delicious! So glad I found this recipe.....I really miss living in China and I miss the Korean butcher and his lovely wife. This is definitely a comfort food for me now! So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to Katie K for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used radish and crab as well but I didn't use the cheese. I oiled the outside of the roll with a touch of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
They put cheese in all kinds of things in Korea...Cheese Ramen, cheese don-kass....why not kimbop? I am sure it tastes great...Korean Fusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I am Korean and I have been around long enough to know that everyone has different flavors. My mom use to make ours with hotdogs, and I have heard of people using cream cheese. I think what ever you have in your kitchen, as any thing goes. A good note to everyone is not to fill it with too much rice or it will be hard to roll about a 1/4 inch layer should be good. And make sure that everything is patted dry or you will rip the seaweed when you roll,cut or eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I have been living in Seoul for a little while now and it is pretty common to see kimbap with ham and cheese. I prefer tuna to ham or cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super good, and super easy to "personalize". Our neighbor makes hers with fried SPAM strips, pickled daikon, and egg. Sometimes we use blanched carrot strips, too. Sometimes, kimchee and beef. Any way you make these, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew up eating Kim Bap as my Dad spent some time in Korea as a young man and I have never had it with cheeseo.O But other wise it sounds right. My Dad uses ham once in a while just for a different twist:) My birthday is in a few days and he is making this for me! Oh Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Yes, again the cheese is weird to me too, but with that said kimbap can be made anyway you want. Kim - is seaweed and bap - is rice, the possibilities are endless and I had it many ways. Each family makes it differently. I personally like mine with dak - quang (pickled radish), bulgogi (korean beef), steamed spinach, egg and carrots. It's just what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As to those who said this wasn't authentic or how they had it, I wrote it as it was given to me by a Korean student studying here. It is possible that she was using the ingredients available here and not making it quite the way it is usually made, but she didn't say anything to that effect. Also, I spoke to a friend of mine who said that she had the same thing made by another Korean student studying in Canada. This may be due to the area they were from or just the generation they were born in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algona, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Its okay as long as you sorta tweak it cheese is popular with the korean teenagers but most kim bab is made without cheese. Also I always had kimbab with hotdogs, sliced lengthwise. Also, this is missing "dan-moo-gee" which is pickled radish, gives the kim bab a good tangy taste. but if you want to make it with cheese, here are some other "fusion" ingrediants to add: tuna, beef, kimchi, pork cutlet. and for vegetarians, you can make this without any meat, still tasty if you make it right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sungmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States