Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The broth is the key; I make it a little more hearty by adding sweet sausage(1lb), leeks(3) and orzo pasta(half a box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
An awesome recipe. I use less butter and its still very very good. Otherwise, don't mess with this great broth recipe! I also use this as a soup base for cioppino and gumbo which let me add more "ingredients" for a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I get so mad when people rate recipes and change them, but that's what I did this time. (But, at least I didn't change the recipe and give it a low rating - not fair!) I'm giving this 5 stars because it gave me such a GREAT base to work with! I don't care for rosemary, so I omitted it and I added carrots, celery (instead of the seed) and onions. I didn't have any clam juice, but boiled the shrimp shells in the broth to give it more seafood flavor and I only used half the butter. Not exactly as written I know, but that's what's so great about this site, it lets those creative juices flow to suit each individual taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Extremely good - but very time consuming. Save the leftover broth for another day and all you'll need to do is simmer it and add shrimp... and you have another meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I didn't care much for this recipe. Once it was done, I added several different items so we could eat it. I was true to the receipe but it just didn't meet my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This has a wonderfully unique broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Lose most of the butter and it is fantastic! There is a need for butter for the richness of the soup but 2-3 tablespoons is plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
fantastic broth, I added two cans of clams for a little extra meat. Sopped it up with lots of warm french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiPhotoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great recipe. Way too much butter. 1/4 to 1/2 cup unsalted butter is best. Add 1 tbsp of crushed red peppers to it or one crushed habeneroto add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My husband and I are BIG fans of this restaurant. We no longer live in the area so I was thrilled to find this recipe! It was wonderful, but I made a few changes after reading previous reviews. I used 1/4 cup butter and think I still could've gone less. Added red pepper flakes and old bay seasoning. Didn't have fennel or celery seed, but added chopped celery. Fresh rosemary. I used medium shrimp but really missed the big ones that the restaurant served. Overall, a very good version. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States