Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was the best soup I ever made, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKHEISLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Well I tried this with suggestions from others to reduce the butter used and go with no salt/low sodium. Bad idea. This dish needs the butter. I went with low sodium broth and unsalted butter but ended up with a saltless flavor. Taking advise from tree hugging people might not be a good idea. I love fattie foods and will use salted butter and not reduce it down to only 1 stick. The tomato paste was way too strong of a taste compared to the restruant and only 2 maybe 3 leveled tablespoons is needed. Other than that, this could be very very close to the original Killer Shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I went into this recipe with the attitude that I have never had the original, so I may even enjoy it more than others, not having a preconceived idea of what it should taste like. I started off following the recipe as it was (minus the entire portion of butter), and once I sampled it, was so turned off I tried to tweak it here and there, which helped, but I still ended up pulling out the shrimp. My husband, who will eat ANYTHING, couldn't even eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight. It was scrumptious!! I followed recipe but used only 1/2cp butter as someone else as suggested- I used a crock pot on low for 6 hours adding wine the last 2hr and frz.tail on shrimp and baby spinach the last 1/2hr. It was excellent. My husband suggested and I agreed= the next time I will add diced potates, scallops and fish. and will probably try to find some dry, ground rosemary! This is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this for the first time last night. It is the closest I've had to KS. I would recommend taking it easy on the tomato paste. I had to put more butter in because I remember KS had this nice buttery richness to it.Also I would use beer instead of wine I think it would give it more of a full body and, I would up the red pepper amount. Mine had a kick but not like KS. Outside of that it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravenfaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I worked for years in El Segundo,, just south of LAX. and Killer shrimp on Venice Blvd was a hit we made 2- 3 times a month for lunch. This recipe is almost there but I remember Killer Shrimp had a bite to it. I modified this recipe using half the tomato and adding the bite with chile powder and crushed red pepper to taste. My daughter loves her's over rice, a variant at KS also, and mine in the broth with plenty of french bread;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is one of the best soups ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this with Dierdre58's recommendations. I did end up with a lot of broth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe is delicious, with a capital D! Most reviewers say it's too much rosemary, but keep in mind the original may have meant FRESH rosemary, thereby you'd only use half or less dried. I use one tablespoon of dried. I have also added a cup of orzo and a couple cups of frozen spinach, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good. I used less butter as others recommended and I added a bit of red pepper flakes to add some spice. My family loved it. My only regret is not buying 2 french bread loafs instead of one. The bread ran out fast. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States