Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Followed recipe with some changes suggested by other users here: doubled fennel to 1t total, added 1t thyme, 1t crushed red pepper, sauteed garlic and all herbs with 1/2 stick of butter, then added broth, 16 oz clam juice and 3 T tomato paste. Then, at the end, added a stick of butter and the juice of one lemon when I added the shrimp, so I got that nice buttery stratification that I loved at the original KS. So so so awesome! I have tried subbing budweiser for the wine, but I prefer a dry white wine to the beer, personally, even if its not quite the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut the butter by over half and it was still too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanne Freeburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family liked this more than I did. It had too much Rosemary flavor for me. I might half that and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I used to love that place. So sad when they closed. I've been making this recipe for years now. Always a favorite of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chop Suey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I would give zero stars if possible made as directed, I did not care for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was superb! I had some crab broth so I used it instead of chicken broth and used beer as suggested in another review. Next time I might try a dash of worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved this. I have a similar recipe which is called cajun shrimp, I'll post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
We are Killer shrimp & Jacks Shrimp fans. So thankful for all the comment tips, I added way more garlic, doubled the the clam juice & added alot of crushed chili, Next time I am going to use less tomato and maybe use beer instead of wine, thanks everyone for your suggestions. Overall pretty close and still good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used to eat at Killer Shrimp quite a bit. The thing that is great about this recipe is that it's a great base to something that I thought would always remain a mystery. Everyone has a different memory of what Killer Shrimp tasted like, so I'll tell you how I did the recipe. I added a lot more garlic than was called for. I just kept tasting and adding. Next time, I would half the tomato paste - I ended up adding more beer (another change I did) because I thought the tomato flavor was too strong. I also added thyme because I thought I remembered little sprigs of it floating around, and I think it added to the dish. I put in a few more dashes of the celery seed, added a little more butter (mostly to cut the tomato taste) and also used a little cayenne pepper because that kick was missing for me. I do not think that Worchestershire sauce was in the original - I added a litte, but could tell it was going to be overpowering. Just my opinion. All in all, this is a great, decadent dish. Thank you for posting it! And, apologies to the purists out there for modifying. The basics of this recipe are great - season to taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Not quite the Killer Shrimp I remember but it comes pretty close. I have made this recipe several times and only use just 1 stick of butter, fresh rosemary and thyme. For spice I prefer serrano peppers. I haven't tried it with the beer but I will for my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I'm giving 2 stars mainly because it's a distance away from the original flavor. It's not a 1 star because NewMexicoMama provides a good foundation! Dierdre58's modifications DO come MUCH closer (although it sucks that s/he won't divulge the "secret ingredient involved") LOL jk I just got through making it about 30-min ago (with Dierdre58's modifications). After reading the other 5-pgs of comments last night I tried finding that secret element(s) myself by adding the following to Dierdre58's: **first sauteed the minced garlic with the stick of butter ADDED the following: 1 teaspoon thyme 1 teaspoon Worchestire sauce 1 tablespoon of Tobasco sauce 1/2 of a lemon (added to the 3 hour simmering) 1 can (12oz) Budweiser beer (instead of white wine) I probably can't open my own chain of restaurants but the bowl I have in front of me is 98% there!! *Maybe I just need a rockabilly waitress serving me, an arm full of tattoos, and a jar of Arnold Palmer to feel the other 2% Again, bravo to Dierdre58! (now give YOUR ingredient) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtTeacher_LAUSD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States