Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I thought this was awesome, but I added 1/2 a bulb of fennel with yellow onion. I cooked it for and hour and put it in the fridge for two days. Then pulled it out for sweet hart day and had a fabulous dinner with my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I tried to stay as true to the recipe as I could, the only thing I added was a little Johnny's seasoning salt and old bay seasoning. I also marinated the shrimp in some olive oil and old bay seasoning before adding it to the broth. My husband really, really liked it and told me to add it to the make again pile. I did serve with soft french bread, but think I would have been happier with crusty bread. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but I would certainly make again. I was hoping for something similar to Ruth's Chris shrimp appetizer. All in all, a very good recipe and it went together very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I moved to NYC and just about died when I heard that Killer Shrimp was closed! My husband never believed me about the awesomeness of this broth until I made it. Now he's a devotee and we make this at least once a year for Oscar night. The broth is even great with chicken. Always remember to save some to use later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
delish, did add chile flakes and less butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this dish last night and it was DELICIOUS! I did add sauted onions and celery and some red pepper flakes. I only cooked for approximately 2 hours and it was yummy yesterday and today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
WOW!!!! Best soup I ever had! Forget the bread, just drink it from the bowl. If the recipie size is too big, don't be afraid to half it. It worked great. No clam juice? Use more broth. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
the greatest..5 *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Close to the real thing. From what I remembered though, when the bowl was in front of you it would steam out amazing odors. I didn't get that when I made this so I modified it to my own liking. Here's what I did differently: First I used Diedre's recommendations for everything she mentions, like reducing the tomato paste (i actually used a couple tablespoons of Snap-E-Tom instead if you've never tried it do, you will love it in place of v8 spicy), adding more clam broth, etc. At the end I added more butter (only using a little at first) and then some lemon juice, maybe a tablespoon or 2 so that the broth will separate. I remembered this murky separation in the KS from when I was a teenager loving this restaurant. I also splashed cream in at the very end to give it that creamier consistency, the soup should break at the oil level and underneath it should be a milky broth with a pile of spices at the bottom. In no order, I added a dash of onion powder, garlic powder, worchesteshire, coriander, and Paul Prudhomme's seasoning (poultry or seafood is fine). I also removed the shells from the shrimps, threw them in and stewed the shells in the broth while I deveined the shrimps. Then I scooped all of the extra spices and shells out with a strainer before cooking the shrimps for the final 3 minutes. I think it came out "killer"!! Will keep trying to get it even closer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Followed recipe with some changes suggested by other users here: doubled fennel to 1t total, added 1t thyme, 1t crushed red pepper, sauteed garlic and all herbs with 1/2 stick of butter, then added broth, 16 oz clam juice and 3 T tomato paste. Then, at the end, added a stick of butter and the juice of one lemon when I added the shrimp, so I got that nice buttery stratification that I loved at the original KS. So so so awesome! I have tried subbing budweiser for the wine, but I prefer a dry white wine to the beer, personally, even if its not quite the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut the butter by over half and it was still too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States