Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
We have updated this recipe due to an error in the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
First of all, we live in Marina del Rey and have eaten at Killer Shrimp at least 50 times. The title of this recipe is mislabeled in that this recipe is called a "soup," where in fact it is a recipe for a dipping "broth." The restaurant serves shell-on shrimp in the broth along with french bread for dipping. The shrimp is eaten with your fingers like peel-and-eat shrimp. No spoons involved nor carrots, celery, onions or mushrooms. This is not a soup! That being said, if you add red pepper flakes to this recipe and reduce the tomato paste, this is a tasty and very close version of Killer's "broth."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I too am a big fan of the original Killer Shrimp and have achieved a nearly identical flavor through years of experimentation. This recipe as given has several points that will cause it to deviate from the real KS taste. (1) Too much butter. It should be 1 stick (1/2 cup) at the most and some people may find they would rather use less. (2) The shrimp MUST have the whole skin on. The flavor that the shrimp peels adds to the mix is essential, yet indefinable. (3) Double the amount of clam juice to 16 oz (4) reduce the rosemary by 1/3 and double the amount of fennel, add 1 tsp dried thyme (5) reduce the tomato paste to 3 TBSP (6) add salt, preferably sea salt (7) add 1 tsp of red pepper flakes (or to taste) (8) add hot sauce to taste. Finally, there is a secret ingredient involved, which I am not prepared to divulge. But the above will get you close. Another reader stated she made this without fennel---without fennel it is not killer shrimp---it's just soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I have visited the original Killer Shrimp Restuarant many times, and the staff had told me they used beer instead of wine...something to think about !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
An important step that is not spelled out in the recipe is to put a COVER the simmering broth. This will ensure the same consistency as the restaurant. Crushed pepper flakes or Frank's Red Hot will add the heat. This recipe is a great find-- The only think missing is service by a tattooed waitress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I stayed pretty true to this recipe w/ the exception of cutting the butter in half (it had plenty w/ just half a cup) & subbing a bit of celery salt & a rib of chopped celery for the celery seed. The only changes I will make next time is to cut the tails off the shrimp. It's seems kind of silly to serve tail-on shrimp in a soup. Oh, I also added some crushed red pepper. About a tsp...maybe two. The broth is awesome...really, really flavorful. I served this w/ Mama D's Italian bread (from this site), which was the perfect bread for dipping in the broth, Bagna cauda (from this site) w/ veggies & for dessert, strawberries w/ zabaglione (also from this site). Very enjoyable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My husband and I are BIG fans of this restaurant. We no longer live in the area so I was thrilled to find this recipe! It was wonderful, but I made a few changes after reading previous reviews. I used 1/4 cup butter and think I still could've gone less. Added red pepper flakes and old bay seasoning. Didn't have fennel or celery seed, but added chopped celery. Fresh rosemary. I used medium shrimp but really missed the big ones that the restaurant served. Overall, a very good version. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Outstanding!!!!! Restaurant Quality!!!! I reduced the recipe in half, and this still made plenty. I followed others suggestions and reduced the amount of butter and added some red pepper flakes; otherwise I followed the recipe. I did pinch the tails off of the shrimp before adding into the broth. This really impressed hubby. Thanks for a keeper recipe!!! Highly recommend!! I just also wanted to add that this had a rather salty taste despite using low sodium chicken broth. I will use unsalted butter next time. I will search for the lowest sodium broth in the future. Still delicious - just don't add any salt! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Tweak it a bit for a rich and flavorful soup that is different. I used 1/2 cup butter and think that is plenty. I added 1 stalk diced celery, a bay leaf, Old Bay Seasoning (a must), and a dash of Worcestire sauce and Franks Red Hot Sauce. Sautee the veggies and spices in a bit of olive oil before you add the broth. Add spinach or parsley right before serving for looks and health. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I've been to the Killer Shrimp in Studio City California (several times)and recently moved out of state. I was thrilled to find this recipe online. It's the next best thing to the restaraunt itself. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States