Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Smelled and tasted like Killer Shrimp (the restaurant). Use fresh rosemary (2-3tablespoons, chopped)and do add 2 tsp of red pepper if you like it spicy. My husband thought the shrimp did not absorb enough of the flavor (since it spent only 3 minutes with the rich broth). Maybe we will try to marinate the shrimp first. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Loved this soup. Used only 1 tbsp of rosemary and 1/2 c. butter - it's the best shrimp soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Parrino Byxbe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I thought this was terrible. Perhaps the 2 tablespoons of Rosewary made it completely overpowering. Thank Goodness I wasn't serving it and tried the first bowl myself. I am going to remove the shrimp and try eating just those over rice and the rest is going dwon the drain. I have triple checked the recipe against what I put in and it was the same. How could anyone like this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was really good and great on a cold night. I did not have celery seed or fennel seed so I just added the ends of my celery stalk which has all the flavor. I also used 1/2 cup of UNSALTED butter instead of the full cup of salted butter and it turned out great. I like to add hot chili sauce to my individual serving as I like it spicier than my husband does. I also took the tails off the shrimp. Next time I would add chopped celery and sliced mushrooms. You can add pretty much anything to this yummy broth soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
An interesting flavor. I enjoyed this one. I made a couple of slight modifications: 1) Strained the soup before I added the shrimp. I don't like the consistency of rosemary, so the strainer removed it, 2) Cut off the tail of the shrimp and sliced the meat into bite-sized pieces. This is easy to prepare, but does take a long time to cook. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is great. I have made twice and everyone loves it. I substitute 1/2 the chicken broth with Clamato juice and it tastes wonderful. My only suggestion is that one loaf of bread is not enough. And the crustier bread is way better than soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I was not at all impressed with this recipe. I think it would be o.k. as a starter course, in small bowls but I doubt I will even use it for that. In all fairness, my husband and my daughter did like it enough to get seconds. No rave reviews here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I made this for my fathers birthday dinner ... it was a HUGE hit. Takes a while to make but SOOOO worth it. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very good! Very similar to a shrimp appetizer I love to make. Tastes great with fresh bread to "mop up" the broth. I did add extra garlic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This soup is crazy good!!!! I've had it saved in my recipe box forever, and have just now got around to making it. I just cannot stress enough how insanely delicious this is. I did add red pepper flakes per other reviews, but otherwise followed recipe. If you are worried about the simmering time, let me tell you it is soooo worth it! I am smiling right now just writing this. Please make it as soon as possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States