Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I get so mad when people rate recipes and change them, but that's what I did this time. (But, at least I didn't change the recipe and give it a low rating - not fair!) I'm giving this 5 stars because it gave me such a GREAT base to work with! I don't care for rosemary, so I omitted it and I added carrots, celery (instead of the seed) and onions. I didn't have any clam juice, but boiled the shrimp shells in the broth to give it more seafood flavor and I only used half the butter. Not exactly as written I know, but that's what's so great about this site, it lets those creative juices flow to suit each individual taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Extremely good - but very time consuming. Save the leftover broth for another day and all you'll need to do is simmer it and add shrimp... and you have another meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I didn't care much for this recipe. Once it was done, I added several different items so we could eat it. I was true to the receipe but it just didn't meet my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This has a wonderfully unique broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Lose most of the butter and it is fantastic! There is a need for butter for the richness of the soup but 2-3 tablespoons is plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
fantastic broth, I added two cans of clams for a little extra meat. Sopped it up with lots of warm french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiPhotoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great recipe. Way too much butter. 1/4 to 1/2 cup unsalted butter is best. Add 1 tbsp of crushed red peppers to it or one crushed habeneroto add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My husband and I are BIG fans of this restaurant. We no longer live in the area so I was thrilled to find this recipe! It was wonderful, but I made a few changes after reading previous reviews. I used 1/4 cup butter and think I still could've gone less. Added red pepper flakes and old bay seasoning. Didn't have fennel or celery seed, but added chopped celery. Fresh rosemary. I used medium shrimp but really missed the big ones that the restaurant served. Overall, a very good version. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Yum! This soup reminds me of my favorite dish at a local restaurant. I followed the recipe except I added some sauteed onion and some crushed red pepper. I also marinated the shrimp for an hour in wine, minced garlic, crushed red pepper, salt and pepper. I served with lots of french bread for dipping. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I used fresh basil because I couldn't find rosemary in the grocery stores this time of year, and it turned out killer good! I also sauted celery, onions, garlic before adding the broth. Thanks for the recipe, will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States