Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Well I tried this with suggestions from others to reduce the butter used and go with no salt/low sodium. Bad idea. This dish needs the butter. I went with low sodium broth and unsalted butter but ended up with a saltless flavor. Taking advise from tree hugging people might not be a good idea. I love fattie foods and will use salted butter and not reduce it down to only 1 stick. The tomato paste was way too strong of a taste compared to the restruant and only 2 maybe 3 leveled tablespoons is needed. Other than that, this could be very very close to the original Killer Shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I went into this recipe with the attitude that I have never had the original, so I may even enjoy it more than others, not having a preconceived idea of what it should taste like. I started off following the recipe as it was (minus the entire portion of butter), and once I sampled it, was so turned off I tried to tweak it here and there, which helped, but I still ended up pulling out the shrimp. My husband, who will eat ANYTHING, couldn't even eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight. It was scrumptious!! I followed recipe but used only 1/2cp butter as someone else as suggested- I used a crock pot on low for 6 hours adding wine the last 2hr and frz.tail on shrimp and baby spinach the last 1/2hr. It was excellent. My husband suggested and I agreed= the next time I will add diced potates, scallops and fish. and will probably try to find some dry, ground rosemary! This is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this for the first time last night. It is the closest I've had to KS. I would recommend taking it easy on the tomato paste. I had to put more butter in because I remember KS had this nice buttery richness to it.Also I would use beer instead of wine I think it would give it more of a full body and, I would up the red pepper amount. Mine had a kick but not like KS. Outside of that it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravenfaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I worked for years in El Segundo,, just south of LAX. and Killer shrimp on Venice Blvd was a hit we made 2- 3 times a month for lunch. This recipe is almost there but I remember Killer Shrimp had a bite to it. I modified this recipe using half the tomato and adding the bite with chile powder and crushed red pepper to taste. My daughter loves her's over rice, a variant at KS also, and mine in the broth with plenty of french bread;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is one of the best soups ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this with Dierdre58's recommendations. I did end up with a lot of broth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe is delicious, with a capital D! Most reviewers say it's too much rosemary, but keep in mind the original may have meant FRESH rosemary, thereby you'd only use half or less dried. I use one tablespoon of dried. I have also added a cup of orzo and a couple cups of frozen spinach, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good. I used less butter as others recommended and I added a bit of red pepper flakes to add some spice. My family loved it. My only regret is not buying 2 french bread loafs instead of one. The bread ran out fast. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I had some family members over and tried this great recipe and they absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States