Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I cut the butter by over half and it was still too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family liked this more than I did. It had too much Rosemary flavor for me. I might half that and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I used to love that place. So sad when they closed. I've been making this recipe for years now. Always a favorite of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chop Suey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I would give zero stars if possible made as directed, I did not care for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was superb! I had some crab broth so I used it instead of chicken broth and used beer as suggested in another review. Next time I might try a dash of worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved this. I have a similar recipe which is called cajun shrimp, I'll post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
We are Killer shrimp & Jacks Shrimp fans. So thankful for all the comment tips, I added way more garlic, doubled the the clam juice & added alot of crushed chili, Next time I am going to use less tomato and maybe use beer instead of wine, thanks everyone for your suggestions. Overall pretty close and still good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used to eat at Killer Shrimp quite a bit. The thing that is great about this recipe is that it's a great base to something that I thought would always remain a mystery. Everyone has a different memory of what Killer Shrimp tasted like, so I'll tell you how I did the recipe. I added a lot more garlic than was called for. I just kept tasting and adding. Next time, I would half the tomato paste - I ended up adding more beer (another change I did) because I thought the tomato flavor was too strong. I also added thyme because I thought I remembered little sprigs of it floating around, and I think it added to the dish. I put in a few more dashes of the celery seed, added a little more butter (mostly to cut the tomato taste) and also used a little cayenne pepper because that kick was missing for me. I do not think that Worchestershire sauce was in the original - I added a litte, but could tell it was going to be overpowering. Just my opinion. All in all, this is a great, decadent dish. Thank you for posting it! And, apologies to the purists out there for modifying. The basics of this recipe are great - season to taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Not quite the Killer Shrimp I remember but it comes pretty close. I have made this recipe several times and only use just 1 stick of butter, fresh rosemary and thyme. For spice I prefer serrano peppers. I haven't tried it with the beer but I will for my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I'm giving 2 stars mainly because it's a distance away from the original flavor. It's not a 1 star because NewMexicoMama provides a good foundation! Dierdre58's modifications DO come MUCH closer (although it sucks that s/he won't divulge the "secret ingredient involved") LOL jk I just got through making it about 30-min ago (with Dierdre58's modifications). After reading the other 5-pgs of comments last night I tried finding that secret element(s) myself by adding the following to Dierdre58's: **first sauteed the minced garlic with the stick of butter ADDED the following: 1 teaspoon thyme 1 teaspoon Worchestire sauce 1 tablespoon of Tobasco sauce 1/2 of a lemon (added to the 3 hour simmering) 1 can (12oz) Budweiser beer (instead of white wine) I probably can't open my own chain of restaurants but the bowl I have in front of me is 98% there!! *Maybe I just need a rockabilly waitress serving me, an arm full of tattoos, and a jar of Arnold Palmer to feel the other 2% Again, bravo to Dierdre58! (now give YOUR ingredient) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtTeacher_LAUSD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Great recipe! In addition, I added 2 tsp. dried rosemary instead of 2 tbls. fresh, 2 tsp. thyme, 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp. garlic salt. I crushed the spices up a little and I only added 1 stick of butter and it was plenty. This is not suppose to be eaten with a spoon! Have plenty of bread on hand to soak up the yummy broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jello Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States