Killer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Took way longer to cook than it stated. But delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever eaten, and I love that it is milk free for people with food allergies. I used plain almond milk instead of the rice milk. It has a perfect amount of spice, and is a great consistency. This is also a wonderful crust - so easy to make, and it was crisp on the bottom instead of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great Pie! Used all fresh spices and an alternative crust recipe! This was a hit at Thanksgiving. (Cooking time for me was approx 1.5 times the amount listed and I did use foil for about 30 mins around my decorative crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This pie is fantastic! I don't usually leave ratings, but this was so good I just had to. I have tried a few different dairy free pumpkin pie recipes to accommodate my kids' food allergies over the years, but you can always tell and they're just not as good. Not so with this recipe! This just tastes like good old pumpkin pie. I did need to bake it for a little longer for it to really firm up. Otherwise - it's delicious just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I had to make a gluten/dairy free pumpkin pie for my son's school. I made another one and it was terrible. I tried this the second time changing the all purpose flour to gluten free flour and using a little more than was called for. I also used Almond Milk instead of rice milk. I made the brown sugar with white sugar and molasses. It is so good that I will use this recipe instead of my regular recipe for our family gatherings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I made it for my family as a treat and they loved it. I will defiantly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Haven, Kansas, USA
Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This recipe was awesome! Thank you 'BakesCakes' for the inspiration. We are trying to omit as much dairy as possible and I needed to use up some pumpkin that I froze last Fall. I made my own crust, but I am excited to try this version. Working with pre-frozen pumpkin, I thought I'd need to make up for the extra water so I decreased the milk to only 1 cup. For the rest of the filling, based on comments that it came out a little less "set" than the traditional recipe, I omitted the oil. I also halved the cinnamon per reviewer comments. And the kicker...I added a heaping tablespoon of cashew cream (raw, soaked, rinsed, the purreed with water) hoping it would give the recipe the 'fat' that was missing from the diary. It baked at 425 for 20 mins, then 350 for 1 hour. The result? A perfectly set, firm pumpkin pie. It is absolutely unnoticeable that it is any different from traditional pumpkin pie. Thanks again 'BakesCakes.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe to make a large 12" inch pie and it was delicious. Even though I have good luck with rolled crusts, I tried the one in the recipe and was pleasantly surprised. For the 12" pie I one and a half times the crust ingredients and doubled the filling which was exactly the right proportions. I used unsweetened almond milk which is what I had on hand and was thrilled at how unnoticable this change made to the taste of the pie (and really decreased the number of calories per serving--an added bonus). I too would have had to cook this pie longer than stated even in a regular sized pan. In my supersized pan (microwave safe) I cooked the pie for 6 minutes on high in the microwave--which is a great trick for lessening overall cooking time of pies if your pan is microwave safe. I then cooked pie in oven @ 425° for 15 minutes and 350° for an hour. Simply a perfect pumpkin pie.--Johanna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My son is allergic to dairy and soy. THANK YOU for posting this wonderful yummy yummy recipe!! And the crust was easier than those I had tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States