Killer Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Wow was this a real hit at my home. I served with a baked ham and there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I tried a similar recipe at a friend's house over Easter and loved it; however, I didn't want to use an entire stick of butter in my casserole as she did. Even for this recipe, I used low-fat sour cream, 2% sharp cheddar and added 1 chopped onion and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_YU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong, but this tasted awful! The chicken soup flavor was really overpowering. Other than the soup flavor, it was very bland. The potatoes lacked 'zing' themselves. Maybe it would have been better if I'd fried them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was quite good, but for me, next time I make it I'm going to double the soup/sour cream mixture, and put the cheese on top instead of in the soup mixture. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This has been a favorite recipe in my family for years. Instead of putting crushed corn flakes on top, we usually put French's Cheddar French Fried Onions. Instead of adding two separate cans of cream of chicken, we just put in a 26 oz can in. Also, I find it easier mixing the potatoes, soup, sour cream and cheese in a bowl before adding it all to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
We have been making this recipe for years. It is a barbecue standard at our house. I have seen several versions of it, but this was the first I made. You can use just about any type of soup. I prefer cream of potato. I don't usually top mine with anything either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Very good! I used potatoes O'Brien instead of au gratin (never knew there was frozen au gratin potatoes) and spiced them up with a good dash of all-season salt. Then, I used a can of crm of chix and a can of crm of potato and ommitted the cornflakes. Add some ham or chicken to this and it practically could be a maindish itself! However, it did work as a filling side to our "Yakatori" steaks (also from this site)! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
SO yummy! Every time I make this, I find myself daydreaming the next day about the leftovers that await! Very easy to make, very tasty. This is a great dish for potlucks or dinner parties, everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This is the perfect recipe for brunches, potlucks or holiday dinners. Ladies used to bring this when I went to MOPS and I always loved it, I'm so glad I found the right recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I used two similar recipes and tweeked them both a tad so I will review both. We really, really liked these potatoes. I used potatoes O'Brian (frozen with peppers and onion) and didn't add any additional onions. The small addition of green and red pepper made the dish look very nice. Next time, I will add some more onion or onion powder. Went well with BBQ sandwiches. Only used one can of cream of chicken soup. On top, I did a mixture of potato chips and corn flakes (good color) and think next time, I will also add some of those french fried onions in with the mix. I reduced the butter and also mixed it in. Think this would go well at a brunch as well as on the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States