Killer Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe was delicious! The food processor made it very easy. I found this recipe tasted great cold but much better at room temperature. Cheesecake is hard to judge when it is done and an overcooked cheesecake will become dry, so if you take it out when the centre of the cake is still a little wiggly it turns out just perfect. The most effective way to bake cheesecake is to bake it in a water bath. Have a dish with a little water in it that is bigger than the cheesecake dish and it sits in it to cook. Since water evaporates at the boiling point, the water bath will never get hotter than 212 degrees F (100 degrees C), no matter what the oven temperature. This means that the outer edge of your cheesecake won't bake faster than the center, which can cause it to soufflé, sink, and crack. I added cherry pie filling cherries on the top. I will definately share this with company as I already did my familly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This cheesecake is awesome. My boyfriend can't get enough of it and has me make it everytime guests come over for dinner. It's a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Cheesecakes are my specialty but I've found this recipe to be a little sour tasting. My husband, who usually enjoys the cheesecakes I make, did not care for it at all. Needs to be dressed up a bit. Chocolate chips or fruit topping would have hidden the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Wasn't too crazy about this recipe at first, but it tastes MUCH better after it sits for a day or so in the fridge. The layers blend much better after it's had a chance to settle and cool off. I recommend making this the day before you plan on serving it. Definately a keeper in that case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I actually divided the batter in half and made it plain and peanut butter chocolate swirled. It was a bit dry, but that was my fault because I used muffin pans to make heart shaped cakes (valentine's day) and wasn't sure exactly how long to bake for. All in all, it was a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
What a great recipe! Using quality sour cream and Mexican vanilla... I always get rave reviews when I make this. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Fairly easy to make and it turned out beautiful. I was tempted to not put the top layer of sour cream on. I'll be taking this to put luck dinners from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
The cake tasted really great, but it wasn't very hard in the middle. it was nicely cooked on the sides, however and that was the best part. we just avoided the middle part of the cake and ate the rest of it. really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I made this cheesecake for my husband since cheesecake is his favorite. He absolutely loved it. I've had to make it every week since. I put some in his lunch everyday. A coworker asked if I would put an extra slice for him in my husbands lunch box. This really is the best cheesecake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Really good cheesecake! I almost didn't try it because it seemed too easy to be true. I'm glad I did! I like that you bake it in a 9x13 inch pan. I used 2 cups graham cracker crumbs instead of crushing them myself. I melted the 1/2 cup butter to make it easier. I don't own a food processor so I used my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer. It worked just fine. There were a few lumps in the cheesecake mixture but after baking they were gone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States