Killer Bacon-Cheese Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I like your recipe i do this instead took hotdogs sliced 3/4 way through an stuffed with cheese an then wrapped with the bacon an used toothpicks to hold bacon in place. Then griled cheese side down at first when cheese starts to melt turn hot dogs an finish cooking. We have been doing this for years, family an friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is the absolute best way to eat a hotdog. My family has been eating hot dogs like this for years. The only thing we change is to add chili to the hotdogs (can chili works just fine). The bacon really adds a nice flavor to the hotdog. For someone like me this is important. I hate the taste of most hotdog sausage meats, even the all beef brands. So the bacon actually enhances the often unappetizing taste and adds a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
A fun weekend food. It was too cold to grill today so I assembled these slightly different. I just tossed the bacon and onion in a fry pan for a few minutes, with the hot dogs. I assembled the buns, cheese, hotdogs, onion bacon and bbq sauce then I broiled them for just about 2-3 minutes on high with an extra 1/2 slice of cheese on top. The kids and hubby loved them and polished them off! Frying up the onion with the bacon really helped take the bite off so the kids could enjoy it too. The bbq sauce was something fun and out of the ordinary than ketchup. Even in on cold winter days you can still enjoy this food if you just prepare it with a little imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is really bendable to what you like the most on your dog. My husband likes american cheese but my kids and I are all about the sharp cheddar. They like barbeque sauce on their dogs but I like to top mine with sauerkraut and spicy mustard. It's also a good base for a chili dog. This is a fun recipe to make with the kids (they love to wrap their dogs with bacon--come on, who doesn't love double meat--bacon wrapped dogs?) and it's always a quick way to solve the "what should I make for dinner" blahs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I make this same hot dog almost identically, except I use a slice of my own oak wood home smoked sharp Cheddar. However in short, everything including a piece of old tractor tire is better with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Family loved this one. I usually have bacon I have precooked which has been frozen. I just wrap around dogs while cooking ... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is awesome. Works well with cheddar cheese for people who don't like swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good! I've never thought of putting BBQ sauce on my hot dog but it was really good! I didn't have Swiss so I had to sub with American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Really good flavor. I never thought of putting bbq on a hot dog bun before. I did feel like it was missing some tomatoes though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not bad at all. Loved the bacon and bbq sauce, diffrent, something new, hubby loved, will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States