Killer Bacon-Cheese Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Family loved this one. I usually have bacon I have precooked which has been frozen. I just wrap around dogs while cooking ... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good! I've never thought of putting BBQ sauce on my hot dog but it was really good! I didn't have Swiss so I had to sub with American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was a nice change from "normal" hot dogs. It was too cold to use the grill outside, so I cooked them on my griddle. I used honey BBQ sauce, and thought it was a little too sweet--will use regular BBQ sauce or even mayo next time. I did think these were a little hard to eat--too much stuff for the buns, and they fell apart. Maybe I will use sausage buns next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is awesome. Works well with cheddar cheese for people who don't like swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is the absolute best way to eat a hotdog. My family has been eating hot dogs like this for years. The only thing we change is to add chili to the hotdogs (can chili works just fine). The bacon really adds a nice flavor to the hotdog. For someone like me this is important. I hate the taste of most hotdog sausage meats, even the all beef brands. So the bacon actually enhances the often unappetizing taste and adds a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not bad at all. Loved the bacon and bbq sauce, diffrent, something new, hubby loved, will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Really good flavor. I never thought of putting bbq on a hot dog bun before. I did feel like it was missing some tomatoes though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I like your recipe i do this instead took hotdogs sliced 3/4 way through an stuffed with cheese an then wrapped with the bacon an used toothpicks to hold bacon in place. Then griled cheese side down at first when cheese starts to melt turn hot dogs an finish cooking. We have been doing this for years, family an friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My kids are picky eaters (including my autistic son). Although they like hot dogs they don't like change. But this recipe was great! I used white onions instead (picky kids), turkey dogs, colby jack mixed shredded cheese and hickory honey smoked BBQ sauce. For the adults I used the recipe as written (except the BBQ sauce) and they loved it! I made some homemade hand cut french fries and we were in business! This recipe offered a new twist to an old friend :) If you are looking for new and different ways to make hot dogs (outside of the usually mustard, ketchup , relish, onions etc...) this is definitely the way to go!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made exactly as written except cooked them in the broiler oven - split the dogs lengthwise when almost done and put the cheese & bacon slice in the dog. I then put them under the broiler until cheese melted. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States