Kikuchan's Potato-Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Much better than the Hawaii plate lunch "macaroni salad"! Thanks for putting the recipe passed down among Hawaii families in writing. I do add about 1/2 cup of cooked salad macaroni and much more mayo. Everytime I make it here in CA...people love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was excellent! After boiling my potatoes, I place them under cold water, and the skins come off pretty easily. I have been craving crab this summer, so this is a nice change from the usual crab salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Local families in Hawaii always make this at parties and it's always a hit. You can also use imitation crabmeat (really, it's good) or 1 can tuna if you don't have crabmeat. A tip I got from a friend is "shredding" 1/2 (or less) an onion and mix into salad. I also use more mayo and add some macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
things i added: 1/4 cup grated celery stalk 1/8 cup pickle juice 1 tsp dill weed I creamed the egg yolks in the mayo-pickle juice mixture with the spices mixture before I added everything else, and I boiled my potatoes with garlic salt yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Loved it! I just left the potatoes skin on added some Hawaiian sea salt and it's always a big hit with family and friends. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This is EXCELLENT - I added a little dill, just because i love the stuff and ALWAYS use it potato salad. SO easy and delicious - this is now a standard in my home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I loved this recipe and so did my family. The eggs made it so fluffy and tasty. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Canepa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I made this for my parents 50th wedding anniv. We had a luau and everyone raved about it. Easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I loved this recipe. I used the lump crab meat from the can..it made it more better than the imitation stuff. I had trouble with the potatoes though. Overall I liked it. People at the party did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Not a bad tasting potato salad, if you like black olives (salt really brings out the flavor of) you may really enjoy this one, may try again with a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States