Kikuchan's Potato-Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was excellent! After boiling my potatoes, I place them under cold water, and the skins come off pretty easily. I have been craving crab this summer, so this is a nice change from the usual crab salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not bad, just seemed kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Loved it! I just left the potatoes skin on added some Hawaiian sea salt and it's always a big hit with family and friends. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
things i added: 1/4 cup grated celery stalk 1/8 cup pickle juice 1 tsp dill weed I creamed the egg yolks in the mayo-pickle juice mixture with the spices mixture before I added everything else, and I boiled my potatoes with garlic salt yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Local families in Hawaii always make this at parties and it's always a hit. You can also use imitation crabmeat (really, it's good) or 1 can tuna if you don't have crabmeat. A tip I got from a friend is "shredding" 1/2 (or less) an onion and mix into salad. I also use more mayo and add some macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I loved this recipe. I used the lump crab meat from the can..it made it more better than the imitation stuff. I had trouble with the potatoes though. Overall I liked it. People at the party did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I tried this salad at a pot luck and very much enjoyed it. I made it myself and it didn't taste nearly as good. Peeling the hot potatoes was very difficult and time consuming. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This salad was just missing something. Plus,it was just too time consuming to peel the skins off while they were hot, unless there is some secret way of doing it, it took way to long peeling it off with my fingers. I don't think it would have made a difference if I just peeled, chopped and boiled the potatoes instead. It was just OK for us and but we won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
We found this to be a bit bland. All in all it was just okay. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Much better than the Hawaii plate lunch "macaroni salad"! Thanks for putting the recipe passed down among Hawaii families in writing. I do add about 1/2 cup of cooked salad macaroni and much more mayo. Everytime I make it here in CA...people love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States