Kiki's Spiced Habanero Peach Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The first batch I made was good but I couldn't taste the heat at all and it did not thicken up. The next batch I doubled the habaneros to 4 and included the seeds and all using 4 cups of chopped peaches (per the recipe in the pectin for peach jam). It was perfect and a big hit at work. The perfect marriage of heat and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Well, I should have paid attention to the "spiced" part. I made this in August when the peaches were ripe and while my husband liked it, it was just too Christmassy tasting to me. Couldn't really taste the peaches at all (and they were fantastic as I peeled and nibbled). Also, the directions say to boil the pectin, add sugar, then boil again. This is the opposite of what the pectin packets say (boil sugar first then add pectin, then boil again), and processing for 15 minutes was too long even at 5,000 feet, so the result is 11 jars of peach habanero sauce. We will use it, but it isn't jellified. Oh, and one final note ... I had never handled habanero peppers before. I didn't wear gloves to de-seed them and about an hour later I scratched my eye with my fingernail. It took an hour of flushing my eyes with saline and milk before the pain went away. Totally my fault, just be careful. Holy cow that was a painful lesson to learn. I will try the recipe again but next time without as much allspice and I will follow the directions on the pectin packs so that these set and will update. Probably next year. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yrnldy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used 4 Cherry Bomb hot peppers from my garden, and 1 less cup of white sugar. I pureed half the peaches with the peppers in the food processor, mashed the rest, then blended it all together. My peaches ran about 3 to the pound, for those who don't have a food scale handy. I love cardamom, so always have it around. That flavor crept through, just like I had hoped it would. This is a great recipe, and I was happy to supply a photo. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this as written except: didn't use the vanilla bean or the cardamom (I was too cheap to buy them for one recipe.) It turned out great anyway (probably a little less depth of flavor tho). Just the right amount of kick after the sweet! It will, indeed, be fabulous in baked beans at the next tailgate party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made two batches of this today. It obviously has not had time to sit for a week like the recipe says, but I had a little leftover from one batch. I put it in the fridge and tried it a couple hours later. The consistency and flavor are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Delicious! As another reviewer mentioned, mine also did not set up and is more of a 'syrup'. I'll still use it because the flavor is wonderful, but I'm suspecting that it is the cooking method (adding the pectin before the sugar), that is the reason why this did not set up properly. I was tempted to do it the way that it says on the pectin package, but I wanted to stay true to the recipe. I'm still giving this 4 stars, b/c, like I said, it is delicious and had a really nice, flavor with a nice, spicy kick, which we enjoyed. If I try this again, I will follow the cooking method on the pectin package. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Really good but i wish, instead of saying "3 1/2 lbs peaches", it had said how many cups of fruit. I had to guess how much sugar and pectin to use. And i didn't have a vanilla bean or the cardamon do I just left that out. But i do like the mix of white and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I served this over cream cheese for my family and at work and everyone raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States