Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
These were fantastic. If you don't like this recipe, then you probably just don't like borracho beans; if do like them, and you're looking for recipe to recreate the real thing, no need to look any further. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These beans are fabulous! I served them with grilled chicken, which we ended up tossing right into the beans. I did wait until the end of the cooking time to add the cilantro. Thanks Kiki. These will be a family "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is great! Easy to make and tastes wonderful!! Definitely will be added to our Mexican night menu at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Delicious!! Had no beer, but was still great without it. I fixed this the day after Christmas and added a leftover ham bone. The red and green from the tomatoes and fresh cilantro gave this dish a festive look. Don't cut back on the garlic. Six cloves seems extreme but this dish can handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Wowzer!! This recipe will knock your socks off! I've been looking for a recipe that re-creates the delicious Tex-Mex borracho beans I find in South Tx restaurants. Eureka! I've found it. The only changes I made to this recipe were cooking in a crockpot all day, and using one minced fresh jalapeno instead of pickled jalapeno. I soaked the beans overnight, then placed all ingredients in crockpot early in the morning and cooked all day. Fabulous! Mouth-watering aroma and rich, full flavor. Oh, and I also used a little fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. This recipe was very hot and spicy using one jalapeno. My family likes spicy food so it was great for us, but if you prefer milder flavors you might want to leave out or reduce the jalapeno. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
WOW. IF I COULD RATE THIS A 10 I WOULD. I AGREE WITH ALL THE OTHER RATERS. THIS IS A GREAT DISH.I LIVE IN THE SOUTH (BIRMINGHAM) AND NEEDED SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT MADE WITH SALT PORK OR HAM FEET OR WHATEVER. DID NOT HAVE BEER TOO. BUT I DON'T THINK YOU WOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE. I DID HALF THE AMOUNT OF PEPPERS. AND ONLY HAD HALF OF THE CILENTRO. BUT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. AND PUT A GREAT SMELL THRU THE HOUSE ALL DAY. WILL MAKE THESE BEANS AGAIN AND AGAIN. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE. I HOPE YOU HAVE MORE RECIPES LIKE THIS TO OFFER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wxmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
AWESOME!!! I did not add the beer. I did not have any and I think it may not have needed it. I seeded one jalapeno and quartered it. That added plenty of heat. However, after soaking the beans overnight I put them in the crock pot on high at 7 AM. By 3 PM the beans were still hard. I had to put them on the stove in order for them to be ready by 5-ish. This recipe was a big hit. I think it would be great with ham or chicken in it. But it made a great side dish for a mexican dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
These were awesome and easy to make. I used canned beans and added green onions (in addition to the white onions). YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
So simple and so favorful! I left out the beer and instead added about a 3/4 cup of red wine. I also used fresh jalapeño, instead of pickled. My husband raved over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States