Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Wowzer!! This recipe will knock your socks off! I've been looking for a recipe that re-creates the delicious Tex-Mex borracho beans I find in South Tx restaurants. Eureka! I've found it. The only changes I made to this recipe were cooking in a crockpot all day, and using one minced fresh jalapeno instead of pickled jalapeno. I soaked the beans overnight, then placed all ingredients in crockpot early in the morning and cooked all day. Fabulous! Mouth-watering aroma and rich, full flavor. Oh, and I also used a little fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. This recipe was very hot and spicy using one jalapeno. My family likes spicy food so it was great for us, but if you prefer milder flavors you might want to leave out or reduce the jalapeno. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Fabulous flavor! I did not soak my beans and they cooked in approx. the given time. Beans that are old will take much longer to cook. If you don't live in a "bean eat'n state" like Texas, try to get your beans at a local Mexican grocery where you KNOW the stock will be freshest. Also, if you need to add water while the beans are cooking, make sure to add BOILING water. It's not going to help the cooking time to add cold water and drop the cooking temperature! I always have a tea kettle of hot water going on the range when I cook ANY beans. I used Pacifico beer (a beer similar to Corona) because that's what was in the fridge. In fact, that's what's ALWAYS in the fridge! hahaha. (Make sure to bring the beans back up to a boil quickly when you add the beer, tomatoes, etc. and then drop the pot back down to a simmer.) My only modification was a large jalepeno, diced and a about 4 tablespoons of Goya Liquid Sazon (If you read most of my reviews you'll find that Sazon finds it's way into most everything!)If you can't find the liquid Sazon, most large grocery chains sell the packets... try it out! (I usually use one packet per cup of dry beans in a recipe.) I'm going to serve it over cooked, crumbled chorizo and top it with queso asadero and put it under the broiler until the cheese is melted. Just scoop it up with some tostaditas and you have a meal..or an appetizer! Thanks, Kiki for a great recipe.... your abuela is smiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
WOW. IF I COULD RATE THIS A 10 I WOULD. I AGREE WITH ALL THE OTHER RATERS. THIS IS A GREAT DISH.I LIVE IN THE SOUTH (BIRMINGHAM) AND NEEDED SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT MADE WITH SALT PORK OR HAM FEET OR WHATEVER. DID NOT HAVE BEER TOO. BUT I DON'T THINK YOU WOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE. I DID HALF THE AMOUNT OF PEPPERS. AND ONLY HAD HALF OF THE CILENTRO. BUT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. AND PUT A GREAT SMELL THRU THE HOUSE ALL DAY. WILL MAKE THESE BEANS AGAIN AND AGAIN. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE. I HOPE YOU HAVE MORE RECIPES LIKE THIS TO OFFER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I've made this twice and I have made 2 changes to suit my tastes. I used 2 fresh jalapenos, seeded and chopped and I didn't care for the flavor of the dark beer last time so this time I used a Corona. Served with smoked beef brisket, oven fried red potatoes, rolls & fruit salad. A Labor Day feast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Delicious!! Had no beer, but was still great without it. I fixed this the day after Christmas and added a leftover ham bone. The red and green from the tomatoes and fresh cilantro gave this dish a festive look. Don't cut back on the garlic. Six cloves seems extreme but this dish can handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I'm sorry, but I really was disappointed in this. It wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped it would be, and even though I cooked the recommended time (and then longer) it still had a strong beer taste. I'm sure the alcohol cooked out, but I did not like the flavor it left. Not the worst, but really, just not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I've just moved to Texas, and all my neighbors make great pinto beans. This was a good starting place. I added a hambone to the dried beans. When they were almost done, I added some sauted kielbasa with the vegies and seasonings. I added the cilantro closer to the end. The cilantro is essential! These were almost up to my neighbor's standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
These were awesome and easy to make. I used canned beans and added green onions (in addition to the white onions). YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
So simple and so favorful! I left out the beer and instead added about a 3/4 cup of red wine. I also used fresh jalapeño, instead of pickled. My husband raved over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I needed a crockpot full of beans for a last minute family gathering so I made the following modifications which turned out excellent. I look forward to trying the recipe as is and anticipate a similarly wonderful result! I used a 6-lb can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed (this about filled my crockpot). I added one can condensed chicken broth plus 1 can water in place of the 2 quarts chicken stock and half of a 24-oz Dos Equis beer. I added the remaining ingredients as listed and let the whole thing cook on low for about 5 hours. I pureed about 2 cups of the beans in the blender and added them back to the crockpot to thicken the mixture. They were excellent served over brown rice or with cornbread. Nobody missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States