Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I'm sorry, but I really was disappointed in this. It wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped it would be, and even though I cooked the recommended time (and then longer) it still had a strong beer taste. I'm sure the alcohol cooked out, but I did not like the flavor it left. Not the worst, but really, just not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I had been looking for a good bean sidedish annd Kiki's Borracho filled the bill. I cut the recipe in half because it is only my wife and I .... but it still turned out great. I also decrease the jalapeno pepper because my stomach just can't handle it as it could long ago. Thanks Kiki with sharing your memories as well as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awesome Beans! I made a double batch for a Tex-Mex party and everyone raved about them. I left the beer out because I didn't have one and the beans were great. I think that it is very important to use a good quality chicken stock. It adds so much flavor. I paired these beans with Spanish Rice Original (recipe on this site) and all I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I've just moved to Texas, and all my neighbors make great pinto beans. This was a good starting place. I added a hambone to the dried beans. When they were almost done, I added some sauted kielbasa with the vegies and seasonings. I added the cilantro closer to the end. The cilantro is essential! These were almost up to my neighbor's standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
These were fantastic. If you don't like this recipe, then you probably just don't like borracho beans; if do like them, and you're looking for recipe to recreate the real thing, no need to look any further. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Delicious!! Had no beer, but was still great without it. I fixed this the day after Christmas and added a leftover ham bone. The red and green from the tomatoes and fresh cilantro gave this dish a festive look. Don't cut back on the garlic. Six cloves seems extreme but this dish can handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Wowzer!! This recipe will knock your socks off! I've been looking for a recipe that re-creates the delicious Tex-Mex borracho beans I find in South Tx restaurants. Eureka! I've found it. The only changes I made to this recipe were cooking in a crockpot all day, and using one minced fresh jalapeno instead of pickled jalapeno. I soaked the beans overnight, then placed all ingredients in crockpot early in the morning and cooked all day. Fabulous! Mouth-watering aroma and rich, full flavor. Oh, and I also used a little fresh oregano from my garden instead of dried. This recipe was very hot and spicy using one jalapeno. My family likes spicy food so it was great for us, but if you prefer milder flavors you might want to leave out or reduce the jalapeno. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
WOW. IF I COULD RATE THIS A 10 I WOULD. I AGREE WITH ALL THE OTHER RATERS. THIS IS A GREAT DISH.I LIVE IN THE SOUTH (BIRMINGHAM) AND NEEDED SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT MADE WITH SALT PORK OR HAM FEET OR WHATEVER. DID NOT HAVE BEER TOO. BUT I DON'T THINK YOU WOULD KNOW THE DIFFERENCE. I DID HALF THE AMOUNT OF PEPPERS. AND ONLY HAD HALF OF THE CILENTRO. BUT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. AND PUT A GREAT SMELL THRU THE HOUSE ALL DAY. WILL MAKE THESE BEANS AGAIN AND AGAIN. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE. I HOPE YOU HAVE MORE RECIPES LIKE THIS TO OFFER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These beans are fabulous! I served them with grilled chicken, which we ended up tossing right into the beans. I did wait until the end of the cooking time to add the cilantro. Thanks Kiki. These will be a family "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is great! Easy to make and tastes wonderful!! Definitely will be added to our Mexican night menu at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States