Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this recipe, as is, on the stove top. I used Shiner Bock beer. Had them for our Labor Day cook-out and got rave reviews. One said better than any they'd had in a restaurant! Next time I would add another 1/2 lb of beans to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I have cooked these twice. Best Mexican beans ever and they freeze wonderfully. I did 2 lbs. in a slow cooker, soaked beans night before. Used 1 1/2qt. chicken broth. 2 bottles bud light. 1lb lean bacon/sliced, sauted w/ 1 white onion, 9 cloves garlic. 1 cup or so leftover pulled pork. Sliced/slight 1/3 cup jalapeño from a jar, the fresh that I used the first time was to hot for my family. The jarred kind are always heat appropriate. 3 cans of diced tomatoes w/ onions, green pepper etc. Only used 1 1/2 bay leaves and 1 1/2 large Tbls. oregano and added fresh as needed toward the end. 1/2 bunch of cilantro in the beginning and add the rest toward the end. Along with some cumin and liquid smoke.(last two hours). Cooked all day in 6 qt slow cooker on high 10-7pm. When I finished they tasted even better than the best retaurant borracho beans in TX!! Yum!!!! My friends and family can't get enough of these. Thanks Kiki?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I love this recipe and make it often. My favorite tips: Fresh Jalapenos (in addition to what's called for, we like a little fire in my family)Add CUMIN, about 1 Tbsp. Use dry beans soaked overnight, but if you're short on time, canned pintos will work. Great in a crock pot - just let it cook - long and low overnight - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Healthy & easy! I've made this several times and found that it turns out better with a dark beer like Guinness. Also, I save on ingredients by using canned diced Italian tomatoes and canned diced tomatoes w/ jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My family has always liked my chili but now this one has replaced it. It was truly wonderful. I added chicken to give it some meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I add the peppers to my own bowl so the kids won't think it's "too spicy." For adults who love traditional borrachos, this is the one! Awesome in the crock pot, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Since I didn't prepare for this meal ahead of time, I put the dried beans into a large pot and covered them with water about an inch above the beans. I brought the pot to a boil and then covered the pot and removed it from the burner. After an hour or so, I drained the water and then began following the recipe. I only had Miller Lite on hand so I used that. I was concerned that it wouldn't taste right because it gave off a weird odor with the oregano, but it was fine. I added extra jalapenos to the pot since we like our food spicy. This was absolutely delicious and worth the time put in. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This isn't my kind of dish at all, but Husband really enjoyed it. I made it with Amber Bock beer (nice flavor, not too heavy) plus I threw in some finely diced fresh jalaps as well as the jarred kind. I omitted the oregano, and added a few good shakes of Adobo seasoning. I mashed everything up a little, and served it with flour tortillas and sour cream. It would be great with some homemade guac too. Like I say, I wasn't wowed by it, but Husband was extremely appreciative. Thanks, Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this in the crockpot too. I combined this recipe with a Frijoles a la Charra recipe by adding some meat (two smoked ham hocks) and sauteeing the onions, garlic, peppers and tomatoes before adding. The bay leaves really add to the flavor. I wasn't sure about them, because I usually add them to navy bean soup (not mexican cuisine, but I figured, what the heck, I'll give it a try). I added a pinch of cinnamon, paprika and coriander too, they are spices you'd find in Sazon. I added too much water, I wasn't paying attention, but in the end it didn't matter at all. This is a very forgiving recipe and the beans were superb, better than restaurant quality. Thanks Kiki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was really good, something different. I followed the recipe but did not have beer. It is very filling and healthy! I keep making it but have to remember to tone down the jalapenos just a little for me. Delicious with or without cilantro but makes it a totally different dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States