Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipes had the taste that I was looking for. I used one can of tomatoes instead of two and eliminated the beer and jalepenos. I served it with Marie Callender's Southwestern Corn Bread Mix. I added a can of corn to the corn bread and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I wasn't really crazy about the flavor, but that's just because I'm not a huge fan of cooking with beer, but with that being said, everyone else loved this and thought the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Thanks for sharing this receipe. I am originally form San Antonio and these are right on the money!!!!! I added 3 Tablespoons of beef base boullion and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this last night and it was delicious! Very flavorful on it's own, but I served this with chopped onions, cilantro, tortillas, and all the fixings for a make your own burrito dinner--very tasty! Please use vegetable broth to make this vegetarian--SOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Totally great. I served with rice and leftover chicken in a spicy sauce. We had plenty of leftovers for another couple of meals. The aroma in the house was fantastic as well. Istarted out using the slow cooker and my beans were hard after six hours, so I read the tips that I had "old beans" and moved it to the stove top. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great recipe! I shared this with a few friends and they loved it too! I will be using it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I will just stick to my mama's good old pinto beans cooked the old way and slice up some vidailla onion and big ole pan of country cornbread and a glass of good old sweet tea. My husband is upset cause I wasted 1 of his Black & Tan beers that he could have dranked with my ole pintos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Doubled the beans and after soaking them overnight cooked everything in the crock pot. Used Mexican stewed tomatoes and left out the jalapenos as I was cooking for an office function. I couldn't believe that I didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
awesome! I used regular jalepenos instead of pickled. 1/2 4oz can, and it was almost too hot...but this is great! Love this as a way to use up bag beans I get with my angel food. I made with ABSOLUTE mexican cornbread...gobbled up by entire family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States