Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These are good beans paired with fajitas. I used a giant can of pinto beans because I didn't have time for soaking, but used all other ingredients as listed. I added Shiner Bock for the dark beer and the flavor worked well. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Really bummed that I forgot to buy the cilantro for the recipe. This was just ok for us. Everyone thought it was a little on the bland side. I used a fresh jalapeno. Did not have much luck with the crock pot. After five hours on low the beans and chicken broth were still to firm. So I had to dump the whole thing into a pot and do it stove top. Luckily, I came home in time to realize it wasn't going to be done in time for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipes had the taste that I was looking for. I used one can of tomatoes instead of two and eliminated the beer and jalepenos. I served it with Marie Callender's Southwestern Corn Bread Mix. I added a can of corn to the corn bread and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I wasn't really crazy about the flavor, but that's just because I'm not a huge fan of cooking with beer, but with that being said, everyone else loved this and thought the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Thanks for sharing this receipe. I am originally form San Antonio and these are right on the money!!!!! I added 3 Tablespoons of beef base boullion and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this last night and it was delicious! Very flavorful on it's own, but I served this with chopped onions, cilantro, tortillas, and all the fixings for a make your own burrito dinner--very tasty! Please use vegetable broth to make this vegetarian--SOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Totally great. I served with rice and leftover chicken in a spicy sauce. We had plenty of leftovers for another couple of meals. The aroma in the house was fantastic as well. Istarted out using the slow cooker and my beans were hard after six hours, so I read the tips that I had "old beans" and moved it to the stove top. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great recipe! I shared this with a few friends and they loved it too! I will be using it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I will just stick to my mama's good old pinto beans cooked the old way and slice up some vidailla onion and big ole pan of country cornbread and a glass of good old sweet tea. My husband is upset cause I wasted 1 of his Black & Tan beers that he could have dranked with my ole pintos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Doubled the beans and after soaking them overnight cooked everything in the crock pot. Used Mexican stewed tomatoes and left out the jalapenos as I was cooking for an office function. I couldn't believe that I didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States