Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
True and authentic borracho beans. I also added chorizo and jalapeno juice when the other ingredients were put in which gives it a bit of a kick. My Mexican family loves it so much for our family get togethers I'm always asked to make the borracho beans! Thank you for sharing Kiki!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The beer gives it a great taste. I loved every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have made these several times and actually prefer them without the beer and oregano. I also use fresh jalepeno instead of the pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Always get rave reviews when I make this, even ppl who dont eat beans, devour them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciaottaway
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were awesome! They do taste like Taco Cabana beans. I added a packet of the Goya Saxon and it really made a difference..yummy! Also a little trick that works really well (not 100% but does help tons w/ the musical fruit if you know what I mean :-) Add a teaspoon of baking soda earlier in the cooking process. I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORRIE123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Amazing. Perfect. I made two small modifications: added two packets of Sazon Goya and used cilantro from a jar (Goya) instead of fresh. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The first time I made these they did not come out at all. I must have underseasoned them because they were bland and strange tasting. Luckily, I tried again! We love beans and I wanted to use up some old MGD. So I used what we had on hand and mimicked this recipe, and they were AMAZING. I love the flavor. My only real innovations were that I used some leftover pork fat, and added some of the vinegar from a jar of sweet jalapenos. The fat and sugar brought all the flavors together beautifully. Thanks for sharing this! P.S. My beans had soaked almost 24 hours and cooked fully in about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I married into a Mexican family and they LOVED these beans. I added bacon into my beans for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My husband and I moved to Utah from South Texas a year ago and we have been DIEING for some Tex-Mex! Nothing here satisfies our cravings! So I came to All Recipes looking for a borracho beans recipe. These are fabulous! My husband was so happy with the results, and so was I. I must have done something wrong, though, because even though I soaked the beans overnight, cooked all day, and only added the salt at the end, the skins were tough. Maybe it was the beans themselves. I've cooked my fair share of beans before without this problem. I'll chalk it up to a fluke. I will be making these again, next time adding some sausage. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britecloud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Since finding this recipe it is in regular rotation in our house. Great with some warm tortillas or corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States