Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I was really trusting Kiki's abuela, but that whole tablespoon of salt really overpowered me and is why I only gave 4 stars. I'm not an anti-salt fiend, either. I will try them again, though ... just with less salt. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I was out of beer and they still tasted great. Served with a little sour cream on the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
We made this as a side dish for Cinco de Mayo 2012. It was excellent. Will definitely make again and would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My whole family LOVED this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
classic....these beans drove me nuts as a kid because we ate it constantly but now it means so much to me...this recipe nails it. I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were very good, I didn't get to let them simmer, but they would be delicious if they had about an hour at least of simmer time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is pretty good. I don't think they are too spicy as some other reviewers have suggested. I do however find the garlic flavor a bit too biting and the beer flavor too strong. (As in, the beans taste like beer). I would recommend sweating the onions & garlic in a little oil before adding to the beans to get rid of bitterness, possibly cutting back to maybe 4 cloves. Also recommend using about 8 oz of beer instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was stunned by just how tasty the beans turned out! Loved them so much that we put them in our family cookbook... a rare honor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very close to what is served in San Antonio, with a few tweaks. I used only one can of tomatoes and drained about half the liquid off. I used only 2 Tablespoons of pickled jalapenos, and that is plenty of heat, along with only 3 large cloves of minced garlic. I subbed 1 tsp. of cumin for the oregano, because that is more authentic, and we prefer it. About 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro is enough to give it good flavor without overpowering the dish. To be truly authentic, it needs a little bacon, but I will add that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States