Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were very good, I didn't get to let them simmer, but they would be delicious if they had about an hour at least of simmer time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is pretty good. I don't think they are too spicy as some other reviewers have suggested. I do however find the garlic flavor a bit too biting and the beer flavor too strong. (As in, the beans taste like beer). I would recommend sweating the onions & garlic in a little oil before adding to the beans to get rid of bitterness, possibly cutting back to maybe 4 cloves. Also recommend using about 8 oz of beer instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was stunned by just how tasty the beans turned out! Loved them so much that we put them in our family cookbook... a rare honor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very close to what is served in San Antonio, with a few tweaks. I used only one can of tomatoes and drained about half the liquid off. I used only 2 Tablespoons of pickled jalapenos, and that is plenty of heat, along with only 3 large cloves of minced garlic. I subbed 1 tsp. of cumin for the oregano, because that is more authentic, and we prefer it. About 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro is enough to give it good flavor without overpowering the dish. To be truly authentic, it needs a little bacon, but I will add that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Amazing! Everyone in my family loves these beans! I omitted the beer and used canned beans. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Amazing dish! I was eating a very similar dish (made with black beans instead of pinto) at a local brunch place practically every weekend and needed to figure out how to make it for myself (for budget purposes). I used this recipe but replaced the beans with black beans and Oh.My.God. it's even better than the $10 dish I was ordering. I serve this over grits with a dollop of sour cream and a hard boiled egg sliced in half on top. Perfection. Also, I noticed a real difference when I used a higher quality stout--it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this according to recipe and had enough for me and hubby and the entire congregation of our local Methodist church. This serves at least 20-24 as a hearty side dish...and a very tasty one at that!!! The flavor is very different and impressive. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
i put these together last night, after work. i only used i can of tomatoes, half the broth, and i think they came out VERY good! and so did my husband.thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I've never knowingly had Borracho Beans before but I'm always looking for some new ways to fix beans. I have a new found appreciation for pickled jalapenos also so I figured why not? Well I just don't know. I don't hate the beans but they really aren't doing anything for me. There is a weird taste which I really can't identify. I'm hoping my opinion will change when I try them again tomorrow and they've sat overnight. But for now, I don't know that I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I do not like beans. My husband does not like beans. But...my kids love them. So I made these. Ans they are WONDERFUL. I am converted. Cooked in a slow cooker for ~12 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States