Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Tons of flavor!!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya
Home Town: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great Recipe..I added a couple extra ingredients and cooked it a little longer..I prefer my beans thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicioso! Just add one pound bacon and drippings to add extra flavor. Bacon relly does make everything better:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I need to add to my original review...that I used Coors Light instead of a dark beer. We always just use a light beer. Still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe is way too salty! If (and that's a big IF) I make this recipe again, I will cut the salt down to one-fourth of what the recipe calls for. The dark beer was also not to our liking. If I make this recipe again, I will either leave out the beer or use a blonde instead of dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Keng Lennon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I soaked my beans overnight and cooked them in my crock-pot all day. My family loved them! The only thing I added was ham hocks. With those, I wish I would have reduced the amount of salt. I had already cut it in half from the amount called for but they still came out a bit salty. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This turned out really good and my hubby really liked it too. I did use two fresh jalapenos instead of jarred. I served this as a side dish to my Carnitas. It made A TON for a side dish. I think next time I will simmer with all the ingredients all day to really incorporate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was the first time I ever tried these beans, and they were a big hit!!! we added some chopped bacon to the recipe to give it a little smokey flavor and they were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
We really enjoyed the flavor of these beans but I had a tough time getting them to cook (after soaking overnight we put them in the crockpot on "high"), hence the 4 stars and not 5. Now I'm wondering if it took forever b/c my beans were "old"? We used 1 whole fresh jalapeno instead of pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I needed a crockpot full of beans for a last minute family gathering so I made the following modifications which turned out excellent. I look forward to trying the recipe as is and anticipate a similarly wonderful result! I used a 6-lb can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed (this about filled my crockpot). I added one can condensed chicken broth plus 1 can water in place of the 2 quarts chicken stock and half of a 24-oz Dos Equis beer. I added the remaining ingredients as listed and let the whole thing cook on low for about 5 hours. I pureed about 2 cups of the beans in the blender and added them back to the crockpot to thicken the mixture. They were excellent served over brown rice or with cornbread. Nobody missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States