Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy, addenda teaspoon of cayenne as I like it hot. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely. I don't measure. I know I put a little less cilantro as I don't care for the taste but it is necessary for borracho beans. I maybe added half a cup of water, but definitely had less than two inches of liquid above the beans. Used Shiner Bock as I've found it perfect for cooking. Also I used the canned stewed tomatoes labeled Mexican Style for those extra spices. I also added cut bacon and fried the onion (I added green onion as well) and garlic in the drippings before adding to the beans. The flavor was awesome and my Mexican husband demanded I not change a thing. The secret to beans is letting them cool for as long as possible. Will be serving in ramekins topped with crumbled queso fresco and garnished with a sprig of cilantro. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Kinda different, I used a porter and I really could taste it. I will make again but I will make it a touch spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These are loaded with flavor, and smell so wonderful while cooking. I absolutely love these, as written, and as an inspiration to keep trying them with new twists. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, the love and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We loved this recipe. The only changes I made were: I added 5 slices of chopped bacon to the pot with the chicken stock and the water. I did not add the salt and pepper until this mixture had cooked for 1 1/2 hours. I used 1 tablespoon of kosher salt instead of table salt as kosher salt is less salty tasting in soup, stew, or beans. I replaced the pickled jalapeno peppers with two fresh jalapenos, chopped. My husband said that "this is a keeper." It is soupy, but we liked it that way. I served it with jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very delicious! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I grew up in San Antonio and living now in the Midwest I really (REALLY) miss the food. This wasn't exactly like the borracho beans I'm use to but it was still delicious! I didn't soak the beans overnight (didn't have time) but I did soak them for about an hour. I found that to be adequate. I used Dos Equis instead of dark beer (just don't like dark beer) so it may have lost some flavor because I did that. Otherwise the only adjustments I made were using fresh jalapeno over jarred because I have a ton from my garden. I also used cilantro paste because I hate cilantro leaves. This is one I'll definitely make again so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Tons of flavor!!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya
Home Town: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great Recipe..I added a couple extra ingredients and cooked it a little longer..I prefer my beans thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States