Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These beans needed a little bit more so I added chili powder, paprika, and cumin. I substituted the pickled jalapeños for two fresh ones (discarding the seeds). I also made it in the crock pot on low for 10 hours (turned it on in the morning before work and ready by the time I got returned). Since I made it in the crock pot, I added some turkey sausage. Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My family thought that these were the best beans that they were tasted!!! The only changes that I made were to use one can of mexican stewed tomatoes and a bottle of Shock Top Beligan white beer. That is what I had at home. I did let them cool some before serving. This was very important. It brings out the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
kiki, your beans are the bomb litterally. the only and one thing I omitted was the bay leaves. my fam. are not lovers of the taste. I've added some mesquite flavored sausage cut into half moons. my extended family loves the beans and asks for them whenever we have a family dinner or bar b que
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bacon Butterfly
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was looking for a copycat recipe for La Hacienda Ranch's Drunken Beans. This is nearly identical in flavor. Absolutely fabulous! I used Black Butte Porter for the beer. We love it with a sweet cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy, addenda teaspoon of cayenne as I like it hot. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely. I don't measure. I know I put a little less cilantro as I don't care for the taste but it is necessary for borracho beans. I maybe added half a cup of water, but definitely had less than two inches of liquid above the beans. Used Shiner Bock as I've found it perfect for cooking. Also I used the canned stewed tomatoes labeled Mexican Style for those extra spices. I also added cut bacon and fried the onion (I added green onion as well) and garlic in the drippings before adding to the beans. The flavor was awesome and my Mexican husband demanded I not change a thing. The secret to beans is letting them cool for as long as possible. Will be serving in ramekins topped with crumbled queso fresco and garnished with a sprig of cilantro. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Kinda different, I used a porter and I really could taste it. I will make again but I will make it a touch spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These are loaded with flavor, and smell so wonderful while cooking. I absolutely love these, as written, and as an inspiration to keep trying them with new twists. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, the love and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We loved this recipe. The only changes I made were: I added 5 slices of chopped bacon to the pot with the chicken stock and the water. I did not add the salt and pepper until this mixture had cooked for 1 1/2 hours. I used 1 tablespoon of kosher salt instead of table salt as kosher salt is less salty tasting in soup, stew, or beans. I replaced the pickled jalapeno peppers with two fresh jalapenos, chopped. My husband said that "this is a keeper." It is soupy, but we liked it that way. I served it with jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States