Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is a good recipe, not very spicy although it sounds like it should be. I added more Jalapenos and cilantro to pick it up a little. But it is a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have never had these before, but liked the sound of the recipe and made it. I used fresh jalapeno's, Old Speckled Hen beer and reduced the amount of chicken stock. Also I used 4 different canned beans. It is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Way to much work! Next time I will take the advice of other reviewers and use canned pinto beans. Took them to a tailgate party and came home with half the pot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this to try to use up some pinto beans I was given, and boy am I glad I did. Its was so delicious. First of all, any recipe with beer as an ingredient is welcome in my kitchen! We put the beans in some flour tortillas with cheese, cilantro and onions and it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because I felt like it had too much oregano. The flavor of everything else is great, but overwhelmed by it. I will definitely make these again, but cut back to maybe half the oregano called for. I used a Sweetwater 420 beer which is a medium stout and had no beer aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Did not care for the flavor. The beer made them bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I absolutely LOVE Borracho Beans! I eat them in Mexican restaurants a lot, but never had a clue how they were made to get this great flavor (although I did know what Borracho means and that they probably had beer in them). I will be making these often. Thanks for the recipe Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These beans needed a little bit more so I added chili powder, paprika, and cumin. I substituted the pickled jalapeños for two fresh ones (discarding the seeds). I also made it in the crock pot on low for 10 hours (turned it on in the morning before work and ready by the time I got returned). Since I made it in the crock pot, I added some turkey sausage. Super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My family thought that these were the best beans that they were tasted!!! The only changes that I made were to use one can of mexican stewed tomatoes and a bottle of Shock Top Beligan white beer. That is what I had at home. I did let them cool some before serving. This was very important. It brings out the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
kiki, your beans are the bomb litterally. the only and one thing I omitted was the bay leaves. my fam. are not lovers of the taste. I've added some mesquite flavored sausage cut into half moons. my extended family loves the beans and asks for them whenever we have a family dinner or bar b que
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States