Kielbasa with Honey Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Like another reviewer, I found the recipe as written to be merely average; but when veggies are added and the ginger ale thickened into a sauce, I'd give it 4.5 stars. The way I did it: Pour about 2 cups of gingerale into a frying pan; "saute" (technically, more like "boil") the kielbasa for a few minutes. Take out and set aside. Add sliced onions, mushrooms, and a red pepper; add enough ginger ale to cover veggies, then cover the frying pan and simmer until softened. While veggies are boiling, arrange kielbasa on a cookie sheet and add brown sugar. When veggies are softened, remove and add to cookie sheet; put the whole thing in to broil. While it's broiling, mix about 1 tbsp cornstarch with some cool ginger ale, then mix into the ginger ale still in the frying pan; boil until sauce is thickened. When the broiling is done, add veggies and kielbasa to the ginger ale sauce. Put into pitas with a squirt of honey mustard sauce, and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was surprisingly really good! I followed the directions exactly except that I reduced the amount of ginger ale to 1 cup. "Saute" isn't accurate; you let the kielbasa boil in the ginger ale until it cooks away and leaves a sweet glaze on the kielbasa; then when the brown sugar is added and broiled, it makes a sweet crust. I was really surprised! I served it with the "Honey Mustard Dressing II" from this site, which is another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe! I added some sliced onions and mushrooms to the ginger ale after removing the sausage and let them cook down until the ginger ale turned into a nice, carmely glaze. I served it in pita bread with the honey mustard and it was such a hit! The recipe says serves 5 to 6, but my boyfriend and I finished it off in one sitting. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I used polish sausage and sliced them in half lengthwise. Everyone loved them. I did as one other suggested and used the gingerale left in the pan to saute onions and mushrooms, which I served over the sausage. Served with baked potatoes and green beans. Yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I followed other reviewers' advice and served this as a main dish by putting it in a pita pocket. I used Healthy Choice smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. It was absolutely delicious and simple and enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We tried this a few nights ago and husband and I loved it. Very flavorful. We were making a meal of it, so I simmered onions, red bell peppers, and some asparagus in the gingerale after taking out the sausage. I cooked onions first, until the liquid was cooked waaay down, as we like our veggies kind of crispy. Just cooked to a nice thick sauce. The veggies were delicious and the sausage was very tasty As the recipe submitter said, it was a great combination of sweet and salty. My favorite way to have sausage. (I used the light Turkey Polish Sausage) Will do again often, as it was so fast and easy. THANKS FOR THIS ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I also took the idea to make this kielbasa with mushrooms and onions. I reduced the amount of ginger ale though. The only other suggestion I would make is that you make sure not to use a sweet honey mustard as it makes it all too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Versital & delicious! The fun part is sauteing the veggies of your chioce in the ginger ale, before broiling with the sausage. I've used "baby bella" mushrooms, vidalia onion, sweet red pepper, & zucchini with great success! The serving sauces can be much more than just honey mustard- although that seems to be the best. Make a lot- and get ready for raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Didn't change anything. It had a good flavor and was very simple to make, perfect for a night when you need to get dinner on the table quickly. Nothing spectacular, but simple and quick. Served it with mac n' cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was really surprised at how much I could taste the ginger ale! My husband and I both enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States