Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is sooooo good--here's a little tip from an old German lady--It's ok to use 2-3 Tbs of water in place of the canola oil for cooking the kielbasa,(kielbasa is already greasy) onions, and brussel sprouts, just keep an eye on it and add more water as it evaporates--the onions will still sweeten up and carmelize cooked in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was a really odd, but really good combination. I served it with egg noodles as a previous reviewer recommended and served it with spicy mustard as the original author recommended. Spicy mustard + Egg Noodles + Kielbasa = Quite Tasty! My family loved the Brussel sprouts, as they absorb some of the flavor from the sausage and onions. I would have never thought to do this on my own. Quite different, and surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I have a slight variation of this dish, and use it as a main dish. Marinate the brussel sprouts, onions and kielbasa with the seasonings listed, but add chopped garlic and mushrooms. Bake in the oven until the brussel sprouts are to your liking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cicero, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was a great basic recipe to build upon. I added beer to the pan with the oil and onion and sauteed it with the kielbasa. I added a little more beer with the brussel sprouts, then I covered the pan to let the ingredients simmer in the liquid. When the sprouts were cooked through, I took them and the kielbasa out and put them in a bowl to hold. I then added more oil to the pan and some roasted garlic smashed with salt. I then deglazed the pan with beer, and kept slowly adding more beer to get to the consistency I wanted. I added some dijon mustard and salt and pepper to taste, then added the kielbasa and sprouts back into the pan and tossed to coat. I served it with parmesan and cracked pepper polenta... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was very simply put, delicious. Made for dinner this evening. Hubby loved it. Followed recipe exactly. Letting the onions carmelize, I think is the secret to this simple,tasty meal. I used a 16oz. bag of frozen petite brussel sprouts, thawed. Was wonderful served over hot buttered egg noodles. Will definately make again. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is an awesome dish for a main or a side! Me and my husband have had a hard time finding brussel sprout recipes that our daughter would eat, but this is one of them! Very delicious! However, we didn't use any canola oil because of the kielbasa having enough drippings already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amand21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really loved this dish! Here's my variation: - Used Chicken/Apple Sausage instead of Kielbasa - Used 2 Med Yellow onions in place of the Red - Quartered my brussel sprouts as they were somewhat large - Sauteed sausage first with olive oil and added Sherry to deglaze the pan occasionally. - Added 1 generous TBS of grainy horseradish mustard to the sausage as it was cooking. - Then sauteed the onions until partially done and added the brussel sprouts. (a little more olive oil and some sherry) - Served it all over buttered egg noodles. Oh my goodness the flavors were unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian-DeLish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was pretty good the onions came out delicious and so did the kielbasa, I wasn't impressed with the brussle sprouts and I normally love them, the don't get as soft as I like them but I did serve over buttered egg noodles which was great! I will probably make the kielbasa with the onions again hold the brussle sprouts Edit, I made this again last night and covered the dish while the brussle sprouts cooked, it allowed them to steam more, get softer and soak up more flavor, this time I served it over buttered mashed potatoes and it was delish! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was great as is! I've made other dishes with kielbasa, green peppers and onions, but the brussel sprouts made this my favorite! My husband likes to spice it up with the addition of a couple hot smoked sausages links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A nice change from the ordinary. I did omitt the salt and it was still a little salty for my taste. I followed the recipe other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States