Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My partner and I both liked this a lot. I liked it more, as evidenced by the fact that I cheerfully brought it as my work-lunch 4 out of 5 days last week. I piggybacked on mayflour's suggestion to trade the oil for water, but instead of either I used beer. I used my cast iron skillet and just kept deglazing the pan as I went. It cooked for about 20 min altogether because I like kielbasa to be almost crispy. Overall, with approximately 2/3 of a 12 oz can of Harpoon UFO Hefeweizen and the sausage, it hardly needed salt and pepper--though of course I added them. Served as the author suggested with baked mac 'n' cheese, it was very hearty--almost too hearty for summer, but that's what air conditioning is for. When I make it again, I'll use more onion; it was almost cooked down to nothing on account of my extended stovetop time. Oh, and I quartered the Brussels Sprouts and halved the sausage coins, too for more reasonable forkfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Notta Badcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really good! I sub'd butter for the oil and added a little water (less than 1/4 cup) to help steam the brussel sprouts (I put the lid on for a few minutes). It was delicious served over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good. Only thing I added was a sliced carrot. I served it with brown rice seasoned with a little butter and parmesan cheese. Thank you yankeesfan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyinpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I liked this. It is not gourmet but is certainly comfort food and easy to do. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this was a great one dish meal..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Oh my gosh, this is good! I made a few changes and, sorry to say, didn't measure anything, so I'll be hoping that I'll be able to make it taste as good next time, too. My grocery store had some really lovely brussel sprouts and I just filled a bag with them. I used Johnsonville polish kielbasa, 14 oz. in hot dog shapes, not the thicker rope shaped kielbasa because I wanted an all pork sausage and the other is a mixture. I cut my sprouts into quarters, and may go even smaller next time. Then I made a sauce of approximately 2 cups chicken stock, 1/3 cup dijon mustard and, a clove of minced garlic. (when cooking is finished there won't be much sauce in the dish because it is absorbed.) While I was getting everything else ready, I microwaved the sprouts with the sauce and the salt and pepper in my casserole dish just to soften them up. I preheated my oven to 375, cut up my kielbasa and the only non-pearl, non dehydrated onion I had - about 3/4 of a regular one. (I'll definitely use a red, or sweet, onion next time. Mixed everything together in the casserole and baked it for about an hour, stirring twice to distribute the sauce and let the brussel sprouts evenly cook and color. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Really enjoyed it. I did add some red pepper flakes to heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this last night with a few changes. I chopped a large onion into fairly large pieces and added it to the brussel sprouts in a roasting pan and added some ground garlic and a little salt & pepper and roasted them to a nice carmalized color. I cooked some wide egg noodles and at the end added the kielbasa. After draining I added some butter and served it with the brussel sprout mixture on top. At the table it was topped with some freshly grated parmesan cheese. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was not only easy and quick, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great dish & super easy! My husband and super picky 2 year old loved it. I used Turkey Kielbasa to save some calories/fat and served it with buttered egg noodles as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States