Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very good! I wasn't sure what to think but felt adventurous and this was really good. I loved the carmelized onion and the salty smoky flavor of the sausage with the brussels sprouts. I used a little oil to start with but the sausage was greasy and I could have gotten by without it. I used 12 oz of frozen baby brussels sprouts and didn't halve them, half a Texas sweet onion sliced into rings, and 2 links of Ekrich beef Kielbasa. This only fed two of us, so I guess were were really hungry or else maybe we're big eaters. I liked this as it is, but think that maybe the recipe with the addition of mustard cream sauce would take this over the top good to a 5 star meal. Great use for brussels sprouts and a great all in 1 skillet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I served this on top of mashed potatoes and it made my husband like brussels sprouts for a change. Really a unique and tasty way to serve an underappreciated vegetable! I will make this again next time I have a bounty of brussels sprouts. By the way, I used regular brussels sprouts and cut them in half and they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Impressive dish, and so easy to make! The flavors blend beautifully. Nothing has to be changed from this dish, though I wonder if small red potatoes could be added....... hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Holtsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My partner and I both liked this a lot. I liked it more, as evidenced by the fact that I cheerfully brought it as my work-lunch 4 out of 5 days last week. I piggybacked on mayflour's suggestion to trade the oil for water, but instead of either I used beer. I used my cast iron skillet and just kept deglazing the pan as I went. It cooked for about 20 min altogether because I like kielbasa to be almost crispy. Overall, with approximately 2/3 of a 12 oz can of Harpoon UFO Hefeweizen and the sausage, it hardly needed salt and pepper--though of course I added them. Served as the author suggested with baked mac 'n' cheese, it was very hearty--almost too hearty for summer, but that's what air conditioning is for. When I make it again, I'll use more onion; it was almost cooked down to nothing on account of my extended stovetop time. Oh, and I quartered the Brussels Sprouts and halved the sausage coins, too for more reasonable forkfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Notta Badcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really good! I sub'd butter for the oil and added a little water (less than 1/4 cup) to help steam the brussel sprouts (I put the lid on for a few minutes). It was delicious served over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good. Only thing I added was a sliced carrot. I served it with brown rice seasoned with a little butter and parmesan cheese. Thank you yankeesfan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyinpa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I liked this. It is not gourmet but is certainly comfort food and easy to do. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this was a great one dish meal..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Oh my gosh, this is good! I made a few changes and, sorry to say, didn't measure anything, so I'll be hoping that I'll be able to make it taste as good next time, too. My grocery store had some really lovely brussel sprouts and I just filled a bag with them. I used Johnsonville polish kielbasa, 14 oz. in hot dog shapes, not the thicker rope shaped kielbasa because I wanted an all pork sausage and the other is a mixture. I cut my sprouts into quarters, and may go even smaller next time. Then I made a sauce of approximately 2 cups chicken stock, 1/3 cup dijon mustard and, a clove of minced garlic. (when cooking is finished there won't be much sauce in the dish because it is absorbed.) While I was getting everything else ready, I microwaved the sprouts with the sauce and the salt and pepper in my casserole dish just to soften them up. I preheated my oven to 375, cut up my kielbasa and the only non-pearl, non dehydrated onion I had - about 3/4 of a regular one. (I'll definitely use a red, or sweet, onion next time. Mixed everything together in the casserole and baked it for about an hour, stirring twice to distribute the sauce and let the brussel sprouts evenly cook and color. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Really enjoyed it. I did add some red pepper flakes to heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States