Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe with the small substitution of half-and-half for the heavy cream and it was delicious. It's nice to have a tasty way to cook Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I tried this last night and thought it was delicious. My husband doesn't like brussel sprouts, but he ate this and liked it. What a great recipe when you want something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this last night and thought it was very good. I did follow other reviewers suggestion to increase the cream to 1/2 cup and found that to be the right amount. Also, I served the meal over egg noodles which I thought worked out well. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to skip the white beans. They were ok, I just didn't feel like they added much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is now officially my favorite brussel sprouts recipe. I love it!! I didn't do the garlic and shallot in the oven part. That would take too long. I just sauteed them in olive oil in a skillet, added the sausage, steamed the sprouts, then mixed that all together with the beans and the creamy mustard sauce. What a delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catycool
Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I follwed the recipe exactly and served it with bread freshand warm from the machine. Next time I will double the sauce so we can sop more up with the bread. As a mom of two young kids I may have an hour to spend cooking dinner but never all at once. I prepped the reciped over the course of the day (roasting garlic, slicing, etc) as I found time. Then, right before dinner time, it took me about ten minutes to throw it all together. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I have no clue what the origin of this dish is. It might just possibly be a classic ethnic dish as the recipe for this is everywhere! I like kielbasa and Brussels sprouts but I wouldn’t have thought to put the two together. I didn’t have high expectations for this – after all, it was just a humble mix of a few simple ingredients. I even went to the market just to buy the coarse ground Dijon it called for. Well, Hubs and I were both surprised and impressed. This was just excellent and we marveled at how much it exceeded our expectations. I skipped the step of roasting the shallots and garlic as I couldn’t see heating up the oven for it. Sautéing those before I added the mustard and cream obviously worked just fine, as this was one, delicious sauce! It got a little thick, so rather than adding more cream I thinned it out with half and half, which worked well. I’m wondering if half and half would have worked well in the first place – and then I wouldn’t have had to open a carton of cream for this. The combination of the kielbasa, the Brussels sprouts, the beans (which I almost skipped and I’m SO glad I didn’t!) and the mustard cream sauce produced a flavor, a dish, unlike anything either Hubs or I ever had before. And we enjoyed it thoroughly. I served this alongside parsley buttered noodles with a tossed green salad. Maybe it was BECAUSE of the few and simple ingredients that this was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I served the whole dish over Pierogies. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is the second recipe I've made by SFG and I'm very impressed. This is delicious! Only change was to increase the amount of cream (used 1/2 cup) as many reviewers recommended. This would be great served over roasted potatoes. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Just made this tonight - I loved it, my family not so much, but they don't really enjoy Brussels sprouts anyway so too bad for them! ;) I was very surprised by the actual sweetness of the dish - I thought it would be overly pungent with the coarse-grain dijon, but it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe when I tried it. I made it exactly as written except I didn't measure the cream, so definitely put more in than was called for. The only thing I would change is that I would maybe add even a little more sauce, and I would definitely cut the brussels sprouts in half before adding to the sauce. The sauce would then seep more inside the sprouts and would give a more even flavor. I can't understand why reviewers are reviewing the recipe based on the picture, not the taste. Really, my dish turned out looking edible, and besides, that's not the point anyway! I always look at reviews before deciding to try a dish. People who give bad review based on a picture are dragging down the average score of a dish they didn't even try, unfairly. I think the site should remove those reviews and ban those reviewers. This is not a photography site. In short, the recipe is good and worth trying for a unique dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States