Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe with the small substitution of half-and-half for the heavy cream and it was delicious. It's nice to have a tasty way to cook Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I tried this last night and thought it was delicious. My husband doesn't like brussel sprouts, but he ate this and liked it. What a great recipe when you want something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this last night and thought it was very good. I did follow other reviewers suggestion to increase the cream to 1/2 cup and found that to be the right amount. Also, I served the meal over egg noodles which I thought worked out well. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to skip the white beans. They were ok, I just didn't feel like they added much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is now officially my favorite brussel sprouts recipe. I love it!! I didn't do the garlic and shallot in the oven part. That would take too long. I just sauteed them in olive oil in a skillet, added the sausage, steamed the sprouts, then mixed that all together with the beans and the creamy mustard sauce. What a delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catycool
Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I follwed the recipe exactly and served it with bread freshand warm from the machine. Next time I will double the sauce so we can sop more up with the bread. As a mom of two young kids I may have an hour to spend cooking dinner but never all at once. I prepped the reciped over the course of the day (roasting garlic, slicing, etc) as I found time. Then, right before dinner time, it took me about ten minutes to throw it all together. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I have no clue what the origin of this dish is. It might just possibly be a classic ethnic dish as the recipe for this is everywhere! I like kielbasa and Brussels sprouts but I wouldn’t have thought to put the two together. I didn’t have high expectations for this – after all, it was just a humble mix of a few simple ingredients. I even went to the market just to buy the coarse ground Dijon it called for. Well, Hubs and I were both surprised and impressed. This was just excellent and we marveled at how much it exceeded our expectations. I skipped the step of roasting the shallots and garlic as I couldn’t see heating up the oven for it. Sautéing those before I added the mustard and cream obviously worked just fine, as this was one, delicious sauce! It got a little thick, so rather than adding more cream I thinned it out with half and half, which worked well. I’m wondering if half and half would have worked well in the first place – and then I wouldn’t have had to open a carton of cream for this. The combination of the kielbasa, the Brussels sprouts, the beans (which I almost skipped and I’m SO glad I didn’t!) and the mustard cream sauce produced a flavor, a dish, unlike anything either Hubs or I ever had before. And we enjoyed it thoroughly. I served this alongside parsley buttered noodles with a tossed green salad. Maybe it was BECAUSE of the few and simple ingredients that this was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I served the whole dish over Pierogies. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is the second recipe I've made by SFG and I'm very impressed. This is delicious! Only change was to increase the amount of cream (used 1/2 cup) as many reviewers recommended. This would be great served over roasted potatoes. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Just made this tonight - I loved it, my family not so much, but they don't really enjoy Brussels sprouts anyway so too bad for them! ;) I was very surprised by the actual sweetness of the dish - I thought it would be overly pungent with the coarse-grain dijon, but it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe when I tried it. I made it exactly as written except I didn't measure the cream, so definitely put more in than was called for. The only thing I would change is that I would maybe add even a little more sauce, and I would definitely cut the brussels sprouts in half before adding to the sauce. The sauce would then seep more inside the sprouts and would give a more even flavor. I can't understand why reviewers are reviewing the recipe based on the picture, not the taste. Really, my dish turned out looking edible, and besides, that's not the point anyway! I always look at reviews before deciding to try a dish. People who give bad review based on a picture are dragging down the average score of a dish they didn't even try, unfairly. I think the site should remove those reviews and ban those reviewers. This is not a photography site. In short, the recipe is good and worth trying for a unique dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States