Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe,, and as much as I sometimes hate to see people post their changes, I did change something the first time I made it.. I roasted the brussels sprouts.. tin foil on a cookie sheet drizzled with EVOO, brussels sprouts cut in half w/ EVOO S&P till just turning brown.. the garlic and shallot were in there too..Thanks for sharing I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good combination. I did substitute with Fava beans for a rich flavor and better texture with a few left over small potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I wasn't too concerned about the picture (after all, we aren't eating the photo)...it's the food that counts. The kielbasa and brussel sprouts got my attention, but the white beans were a great added touch. Those with narrow minds are missing a great meal. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
the dish is great! nuff said....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I've made a similar dish for many decades, using a single pot and a lot less fuel. Mincing the shallot and garlic and heating them in a few drops of olive oil over a low flame softens them nicely without heating the oven. I also let some fat from the kielbasa, which I slice into eight or ten pieces, cook out so it’s not necessary to add more oil. I'm sure the mustard cream sauce is tasty, but it adds way too many calories. I use quartered cabbage instead of Brussels sprouts and quartered red potatoes and onions instead of the ubiquitous beans. I don't use recipes, except for baking, because the number of diners varies from meal to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I served the whole dish over Pierogies. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is now officially my favorite brussel sprouts recipe. I love it!! I didn't do the garlic and shallot in the oven part. That would take too long. I just sauteed them in olive oil in a skillet, added the sausage, steamed the sprouts, then mixed that all together with the beans and the creamy mustard sauce. What a delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catycool
Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was superb! I did make a couple of changes. Roasted the Brussels sprouts and some diced potatoes along with the garlic. Used 1/2 c soy milk in place of the cream. The sauce added a really nice subtle flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I tried this as written and it's ok. It would be better with brats and bacon. The beans are a nice touch with the mustard sauce. And we all know beans and bacon are a winning combo. After being in Germany (Duetchland), I probably won't make this again. Something off about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Really good stuff and easy to prepare. I was hesitant on the kidney beans so I used Great Northern Beans. They were great and they blended nicely with the dijon to make it stand out more. It even tasted great with turkey kielbasa. I'll make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States