Kielbasa with Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was delicious. I roasted the Brussels sprouts with the shallot and garlic as others suggested. I took out the shallots and garlic and smashed them in a small bowl and sauteed them as the recipe stated. I didn't have coarse dejon mustard but I had some stoned ground mustard that I used. After sauteing the shallot and garlic I deglazed the pan with a little white wine. I also didn't have any white beans so I left them out. I will be making this again. My husband didn't think he liked Brussels sprouts but he had seconds of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I substituted broccoli for the brussel sprouts and it was amazing! I skipped steps 1, 2 and 3 by simply sauteeing a diced shallot and garlic at step 5, and simply defrosting some frozen broccoli. Will definitely make again. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Creative recipe that my family really enjoyed. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I didn't heat up the oven to do the shallot/garlic mix. I just cooked them in the frypan with the EVOO. I took others' advice and increased the cream to 1/2 cup. I also increased the Dijon mustard to 3 T. I used Cannelini beans instead of the smaller white kidney beans because it's what I had on hand. The final product was not pleasing to the eye but, WOW, it tasted fantastic. I've been reheating it in the microwave for the last 3 days. I live alone so I can serve the same thing for several days without seeing scowls on the faces of other family members. I'll be making it again. I never would have thought to put Brussels sprouts and Kielbasa together. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I have no clue what the origin of this dish is. It might just possibly be a classic ethnic dish as the recipe for this is everywhere! I like kielbasa and Brussels sprouts but I wouldn’t have thought to put the two together. I didn’t have high expectations for this – after all, it was just a humble mix of a few simple ingredients. I even went to the market just to buy the coarse ground Dijon it called for. Well, Hubs and I were both surprised and impressed. This was just excellent and we marveled at how much it exceeded our expectations. I skipped the step of roasting the shallots and garlic as I couldn’t see heating up the oven for it. Sautéing those before I added the mustard and cream obviously worked just fine, as this was one, delicious sauce! It got a little thick, so rather than adding more cream I thinned it out with half and half, which worked well. I’m wondering if half and half would have worked well in the first place – and then I wouldn’t have had to open a carton of cream for this. The combination of the kielbasa, the Brussels sprouts, the beans (which I almost skipped and I’m SO glad I didn’t!) and the mustard cream sauce produced a flavor, a dish, unlike anything either Hubs or I ever had before. And we enjoyed it thoroughly. I served this alongside parsley buttered noodles with a tossed green salad. Maybe it was BECAUSE of the few and simple ingredients that this was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Whole family loves this, even my husband who has always hated brussel sprouts. We add a touch of sugar to sweeten the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very tasty dish. I was not sure how this would turn out, because it is a different mix of foods, but I took the adice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. I also coated the brussels sprouts in oil, salt and pepper and roasted them at 500 degrees for about 15 minutes before adding them in. This meal tasted even better the next day for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe takes kielbasa to a new level. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aishathegrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Everyone is surprised when they're served this one - and then surprised again when they taste how good this odd combination is. I usually throw in an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A little strong with the mustard. Will make this again, with less mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States