Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as the recipe called and it was great! My family loved it. I will omit the sour cream next time though because my husband tasted the broth prior to including it and liked it better that way. Served it with toasted and buttered baguette slices for dipping in the broth. This is a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. I did not brown the sausage in butter, because so much fat/grease comes out of the sausage anyway. Once the sausage was browned, I drained off most of the fat. Then I added the onion and browned that a little. Continued with the recipe, excluding the salt. Good thing! We try to do lower sodium, and it would have been way too salty if I had added it. I did use the lower sodium tomato soup and beef broth. My husband isn't fond of cabbage, but enjoyed this and got seconds. I thought it was good. Not a favorite, but it'll be nice to have from time to time. My daughter didn't like this. She said the flavor was good, but couldn't get past the texture of the cabbage. But she's picky that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Williamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Love this. Have already made this twice in one week. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Delicious and hearty, easy to tweak (not that it needs much) to your liking. I used tomato paste and stewed tomatoes instead of the soup also added a little chili flake for a little kick. My wife, kids and their friends devoured the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
WOW! Definitely a keeper!! Pretty much followed recipe...with a few slight changes. I doubled it. Sautéed 1 1/2 white onions and sausage in butter first, ADDED 2 CHOPPED POTATOES. Used 15 oz. bagged chopped cabbage (angel hair cole slaw). Used about 5-6 cups of water and 3 tsp beef boullion. ADDED CARROTS. Used only 1/2 tsp salt. I forgot the sour cream, but will try it with the leftovers. Made enough for our family of 4, plus leftovers, and some to freeze! Thinking I will add corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_mama_smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I followed the recipe as written. Only short cut I took was using a bag of coleslaw rather than chopping the cabbage myself. The family voted this a keeper and we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I'm trying to cut out carbs and processed foods, and eating the same thing over and over was getting boring. I thought this recipe would mix it up. I made it essentially as written, but added diced carrots. I cut the kielbasa thin and browned it, then sautéed the vegetables. I put that and the remaining ingredients in the crock pot. I used a bag of cole slaw mix instead of plain cabbage, and I also added a couple of fresh diced tomatoes and a small can (4 oz) of tomato sauce. I cooked it on high for 4 hours. When I tried it the first night, it was a 4 star recipe. When I had the leftovers for lunch for the next few days, it was a 5 star. Just gets better. I know it is a strange recipe, but I promise, it's absolutely delicious. The broth is amazing. But don't skip the sour cream--that gives it that extra creaminess. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I double the sausage. Used tomato sauce instead if the tomato soup, it was all I had on hand. Turned out great! Tasted better the next day after the flavones meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marta Martinez Rivera
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Just made this and I loved it, me being hispanic I added my homemade sofrito and sazon, I also added carrots potatoes, noodles and spinach but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Martinez Rivera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States