Kielbasa Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I don't usually modify recipes except I only use fresh ingredients in my recipes. I used my own canned stewed tomatoes (they smell like I just cut up the peppers, onions and tomatoes). I also used fresh parley and basil that I grow. I didn't see any sense in cooking the kielbasa in oil. I just browned it, I put in a lot of fresh garlic and crushed dried hot peppers, and topped with homeade bread crumbs and pepper jack cheese. It was great. Thanks for the this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Whole family gave this recipe a thumbs up. I don't like stewed tomatoes, so I used Italian diced tomatoes instead. I also added fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was really good. I'm not a big fan of tomato chunks so I did omit the stewed tomatoes as well as add extra cheese and flaked parm on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I, like most cooks, tweeked it a bit to make it healthier and seasoned to our taste. Instead of ziti, I used whole wheat rotini and nixed the stewed tomatoes since my husband doesnt care for them, although they would have been great I'm sure. Instead I used a whole jar of speghetti sauce. I used turkey brats spiced up with crushed red pepper to make it a bit leaner and it was great! I sauteed some zucchini with the turkey brats (I added the zucchini when brats were half way done) with a bit a EVOO and fresh garlic. I also added some sweet basil with the oregano. After I mixed the meat/veggie sauce with the pasta, I stired in some parmesan cheese. I also used more monterey jack and mozzerella cheese because, well, we just love cheese. I think some sauteed onion would have put it over the top... but the husband doesnt like them :/ I think that this recipe would be delicious on it's own but it works as a great template to whatever you have in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
A nice change from my kielbasa and kraut. I made a few changes that stepped it up the second time around. I added a crushed potato chip topping for some crunch. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with garlic and oregeno and only one can of stewed tomotoes- gave it more flavor and cut down on some of the juice. I also took the advise of others and used more meat and cut it into smaller pieces (you'll need a larger dish though). This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was so easy! Everyone loved it! I used earlier recommendations of adding sliced sauteed onions and minced garlic and used a jar of spaghetti sauce and 1 can of sliced tomatoes drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
easy recipe and inexpensive. I added ricotta cheese, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I found this to be very good! I did take in some of the advice from other reviewers. I used diced tomatoes with onions and added garlic and red pepper flakes when cooking the kielbasa. Would def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Orchard Beach, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Of course I changed this recipe to coordinate with what I had in the house, and my experience as a personal chef...Reduce (Rigatoni) pasta to 3/4 lb. 1. I used beef polish sausage, and fried it sans the vegetable oil (it has it's own fat to fry in) 3. I then added to the sausage 1 clove of garlic, small onion (chopped finely), small amt. of pepper for taste, parsley, pinch of crushed red pepper and cooked for 5min. I then added 1 jar of spaghetti sauce plus 1 4oz can tomato sauce, and brought to a slight boil...at which time I added 10 small frozen meatballs. Simmered for 15min stirring often. Cut the meatballs in half, and mixed with pasta in 8 by 11 glass . I added a dusting of italian style breadcrumbs, a sprinkling of cheese, and topped with italian pepperoni. Cooked uncovered for 25 min checking often to ensure that it did not dry out. There were no leftovers, and that is saying something in this family. This is an excellent starter recipe. Tweak it to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
very good! i didn't have all the ingredients and i added a bag of frozen veggies, but it turned out good anyways! i also used whole wheat pasta. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States